The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Hmmmph

OK, so this shot has virtually nothing to do with the post itself… apart from it pretty much expresses how my weekend went… lol…
So… Virus’s !!… I mean, seriously… WHAT is the point ???… Why do people spend time and effort annonymously creeating something that has no use whatsoever ???… for which they can hardly take credit for… They should work in Government I think !!!… ;)

Anywho.. Last Friday my wife kindly acquired a free no money back guarantee virus for her laptop, despite that is having virus software installed… Trouble is, when you get a pop up that asks “Do you wish to install this Virus” and you click “OOOOH YES PLEASE, INFECT ME NOW !!”… then no amount of virus software is going to help !!!…

Yeah OK, maybe it wasn’t quite so obvious a request to infect her laptop, but even so… Now my wife is unfortunately NOT very pc literate, and I have lost count of the times I’ve said “If anything comes up asking you to run something / install something / update something…. then DON’T !!, until I’ve checked, and said it’s harmless”….

Anyways… I was sitting there quietly minding my own business on Friday, when my wife who was merrily surfing away said “OH !!… Brian, I think I’ve got a virus !!”… YUP.. She had… and WHAT a virus it was too….

She was on a website, and it threw up a window that said “Your System is Infected !!.. Please run this system scan to ensure your system is protected”… Sure I can see how it’s an easy mistake, but it was on a website AND I was sitting no more than 6 feet away…. but she silently clicked the “Do your worst, I’m not scared” button anyway…. Urrrrgh…

This was a nightmare of a virus (System Tools 2011, for those wondering)… It shut EVERYTHING down… Turned off the firewall… turned off the virus software… disabled task manager… prevented ANY software from running, apart from Internet Explorer… Changed the wallpaper to a very poorly worded virus warning about protecting your boss, children and wife !?!?, and every few seconds or so it threw warnings from the system tray about files that were infected… Oh, and it also ran it’s own false virus scan software, that you had to “purchase” to clean the system properly… Yeah RIGHT !!!… lol…

Well I did some digging, and found a site detailling keys that needed removing from the registry.. but the virus prevented regedit from running…. So I had to resort to Safe Mode… Unfortunately the virus was cleverer than that, and the defined regstry entries weren’t there… Virus 1 : Me 0

So I was given a tip off on some software that was supposed to be pretty successful (Stinger)… but unfortunately I couldn’t install or run it in the standard windows environment, as the virus wouldn’t allow any other software to run… Managed to overcome that though by doing it all in safe mode… Virus 1 : Me 1

Stinger ran overnight, and found and removed 1 trojan… Virus 1 : Me 2
Got up real early to check Stingers success, but the virus itself was still there… Virus 2 : Me 2

Found some more software (Maleware Bytes) that suggested it was capable of removing the virus, but unfortunately I couldn’t install or run that either in standard windows, as the virus wouldn’t allow any other software to run… Overcame that in safe mode, but it couldn’t update the definitions as safe mode didn’t allow connection to my wifi… and the virus was still there… Virus 3 : Me 2

So I then got sneaky, and re-named the executable for the maleware software to “iexplore.exe”, in an attempt to fool the virus that it was actually running Internet Explorer… That worked, and in standard windows I was then able to run the maleware software, and update it… Virus 3 : Me 3

Started it running, and went back to bed… Got up to find the computer had re-satarted… and was STILL infected… Urrrrgh… Virus 4 : Me 3

Before using the laptop as a frisbee though, I decided to run the maleware software one more time… as it was the ONLY software I’d found that suggested it was capable of eliminating this virus… So I did…. and sat there waiting… About 10 mins in to the maleware scan though, a warning appeared from the virus, stating that the virus / scan software was out of date, and the computer needed to re-boot !!!…. Obviously as I wasn’t there during the initial scan, the virus rebooted the system itself !!!… hence it never actually got chance to remove the virus… Double sneaky on the virus’s part… This time however I prevented the reboot, and continued with the maleware scan… It ran right through, and found numerous infected files… which were removed.. Virus 4 : Me 4

Rebooted the laptop… crossed fingers… closed eyes… crossed eyes… and anything else available… and prayed…
The laptop re-started… No warnings… No infection notifications… No system tray pop-ups… No virus warning wallpaper… No seeping puss filled boils… No rabid hate filled fluffy bunny rabbits… Nuffin’… apart from a fully functional virus free system…

Final Score – Virus 4 : Me 5
WooooHoooo…. I WIN !!!… :D

Mind you, I now have to find a way to get my wife to agree to have her fingers removed, to prevent any further unsupervised button pressing… ;)

27 responses

  1. Avital Pinnick

    If I were you, I’d stick the bear on the pinhead who wrote the virus. Maybe you could get your wife a Linux laptop….

    March 28, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    • Lol.. Thanks Avital.. I was thinking more along the lines of a notebook (and a pencil)… ;)

      March 29, 2011 at 4:08 pm

  2. Oh, Lordy!
    There’s a special spot reserved In Hell for virus writers! My husband is a Network Engineer, so he saves me all the time. I, however, do NOT click those buttons……..well, not anymore anyway. ;)

    March 28, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    • Well I think I could have done with a network engineer too, as I was fast running out of hair to pull out… lol..

      March 29, 2011 at 4:10 pm

  3. Urghhh!! Sounds very similar to something my OH had about a year back. Completely freaked him out, and he’s a software geek developer person! Viruses. Pointless bloody things.
    LOVE the bear, though :D

    March 28, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    • Lol.. Well they don’t freak me out, but they sure as heck annoy me… Really I don’t see the point !!!…

      March 29, 2011 at 4:12 pm

  4. Goodness, what a nightmare! Glad you outsmarted that nasty virus!
    Cute bear :)

    March 28, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    • Haha… Yeah I’m real determined sometimes… and was convinced it wasn’t going to defeat me… even if it meant beating it to a pulp with a sledge-hammer… ;)

      March 29, 2011 at 4:15 pm

  5. Great story. Now, I’m scared all over again about getting a virus! Love the “Bear”, Brian.

    March 28, 2011 at 11:13 pm

    • LOL.. Well it’s the first one I’ve had in as long as I can remember, and it had to be installed… so I’d not be too scared if you’re careful..

      March 29, 2011 at 4:17 pm

  6. How nightmarish! Ug! I had something that was zapping my files as I tried to use them about a week ago; luckily hubby was able to fix with a system restore. You are so right though – why in the world would anyone get their jollies from writing these things?
    Just love the expression on the bear’s face – perfect!
    PS My daughter wants to know if you are a Monty Python fan, because in her words, how else would you come up with something like hate filled fluffy bunny rabbits? LOL

    March 29, 2011 at 1:53 am

    • Yeah I tried the whole system restore thing, but the virus also deactivated that… so no luck there either… and… ummm.. yeah… Who doesn’t love Monty Python, and the Holy Grail Killer Bunny may have had some bearing on my comment… lol… ;)

      March 29, 2011 at 4:21 pm

  7. Jayne

    Those pop up windows are horrible, whatever they’re for, because they’re in yer face so have to be dealt with. It’s too easy, when in a hurry, or just plain irritated by them, to click on ‘No’ instead of the little ‘x’ and unfortunately some are worded so that clicking ‘no’ does exactly what you don’t want it to do anyway. (This is just by way of defending your wife here).

    The people who write these are either pimply 16-year-old permanent-bedroom-dwelling-light deprived geeks…OR…they’re from the very companies that sell the cures. Think about it, what better way to stay in business than circulate viruses and then sell the software to cure them? ;)

    Aaaand there’s that old age onset paranoia emerging again! :D

    (The teddy bear is cute)

    March 29, 2011 at 6:41 am

    • Oh no no no… Defending her isn’t allowed… Not allowed at all… lol… Had she clicked “No”, then maybe I’d kinda allow it, but she actually clicked the “Install” button… Arrrrrgh !!… ;)

      And I dare say you’re right about most of them being written by virus software companies though, although I did read that even if you purchased this particular fake software the virus presented you with, it still didn’t eliminate it…

      March 29, 2011 at 4:29 pm

      • Jayne

        LOL…yes, I’d failed to read that properly. Clicking ‘install’ wasn’t the wisest move, but after seeing your reaction and subsequent lengthy efforts, I’m pretty sure she wont be doing that again. :)

        March 30, 2011 at 10:00 am

  8. Oh, I love this “little” cute teddy gentleman :-) I especially like the nose and the mouth…
    Well, Brian, good portrait! I mean… where did you find this kind of creature? I have seen bears, but not a brown one…

    March 29, 2011 at 8:01 pm

    • LOL… I’m not so sure I’d class him as “little”… but he sure did have the perfect expression and pose… He’s a European Brown Bear btw… but this wasn’t a wild one unfortunately. It was taken in a safari park… Thanks Irina..

      March 29, 2011 at 9:28 pm

  9. aswirly

    Perhaps your missus has a virus. Did you run a scan? ;) hehe… Well, I think somebody had a very mad grumpy bear weekend. Sorry about the virus. That REALLY SUCKS, but at least you won! I love your little rant though, and how well that grumpy bear pic fits the mood ;)

    March 30, 2011 at 2:21 am

    • Lol… Maybe she has… Maybe I should just see if I can reboot her, or just run her in safe mode for now… ;)

      March 30, 2011 at 4:38 pm

  10. Well…sounds as if you might have been better off feeding the laptop to the bear. Of course there ARE other more diabolical options. Lol. Glad you got it sorted out. I’ve had problems like this in the past. My son seems to glory in creating headaches like this. Fairly certain he’d not submit to appendage removal… :)

    March 30, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    • Yeah I think I should have opted for the more diabolical… lol.. Ah well, too late now I guess.. ;)
      Surely though your son should now be the one who “fixes” the computer problems… Isn’t that what they’re for ??.. lol..

      March 30, 2011 at 4:51 pm

  11. Val Erde

    Sympathies. I know how it feels. I had one of these so-called scanner viruses some months back. It took over the computer and told me that the hard disc was missing! So I opened ‘my computer’ and part of the my documents folder was missing but… well, I mean, how can one see the my computer folder if the hard drive is missing?! So I did my usual stuff and eventually after trying everything, I used system restore and took it wayyyy back! (I gather they can disrupt the system restore too, but this one hadn’t thought of doing that, thankfully).

    I’m the one here that does the computer doctoring (though the registry are still a mystery to me, and I wouldn’t try to look at the innards), and I’m aware of most things not to click on.

    March 30, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    • Yeah I tried the system restore, but this virus blocked it from running, and appears to have corrupted the restore points too… Ah well, it’s gone now at least… :)

      April 1, 2011 at 7:44 pm

  12. LOVE the bear shot! Priceless!

    Oh, your poor wife! These windows pop up for me all the time but I am savvy enough to ignore them (having an IT hubby doesn’t hurt). I always think what a better place the world would be if all the hackers put there collective energies into something positive.

    April 1, 2011 at 4:58 pm

    • My poor wife !!!… LOL… What about poor me who was up till who knows when in the early hours of the morning trying to fix it… I’m pretty sure it’s me who deserves the sympathy (or at least that’s what I’m going for)…. ;)
      You’re right though, with all the programming knowledge they have, I’m sure they could put it to much better use….

      April 1, 2011 at 7:46 pm

  13. Have you considered buying your wife a Mac?

    They are great for non-computer savvy girls (ahem, speaking from personal experience) and then she could play safely. :)

    April 4, 2011 at 12:47 am

    • Haha… I considered a notebook (200 leaves, lined and ringbound… lol), and was even gonna throw in a new pencil too… ;)
      Funnily enough, she wasn’t overly impressed with that suggestion either… Maybe a Mac would be a good idea, but they’re a bit pricey over here…

      April 4, 2011 at 5:46 pm

Leave a Reply

