The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Tickled Pink

Couldn’t resist the… ummmmm… RED  (not pink) tips to these leafy type planted wotsits…

Anyway, I have a question…  Although I tend to favour landscapes and the odd bit of urbex, I’ve always tried to keep my photography as varied as possible, and even lately throw in the odd bit of artwork to boot… But here’s the rub, I look at some blogs where they have a very specific area of expertise / focus, and a very consistent feel to them, and can’t help but feel they look MUCH nicer than mine… More professional and tied together… To me, my blog is just… kinda messy… and really doesn’t hold together too well because of the variety to the things I post…

So what do you think ???… I know a blog is a personal thing, and should definitely reflect the individual, and that variety is a GOOD thing. The downside I guess though is the whole “Jack of all trades, Master of none” scenario….  Anyway, I also prefer things to have a certain flow… and don’t really feel that with my own blog…

I don’t intend to change my blog, as my desire to try all things photographic / artistic is as strong as it ever was, but I’d love to know how other people feel… Do you prefer a more consistent subject matter and feel to a blog, or do you prefer one that tries to throw in a bit of anything and everything ???…

ps… May not be around much next week, as I have a little trip arranged, and depending on wifi access etc, commenting will be sporadic, and posting will likely be non existent… Hopefully though I’ll have some new material when I come back… :)

35 responses

  1. I kind of just randomly came across your blog, and boy, am I glad I did! Your photography is absolutely BEAUTIFUL!! I’m an artist as well, but I mostly concentrate on painting and woodburning. I recently got a dSLR, however, and have been dying to improve my photography skills. If you have any tips, I’d be more than happy to hear them. Your work is so inspirational.

    I’ll be sure to stop by often; keep doing what you do!

    April 16, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    • Hey thanks so much… Glad you did… As for tips on photography, well where do I start… lol… as there are so many things that will be helpful depending entirely on what you want to photograph… but if you have any specific questions or problems then just ask… Try to learn the manual settings though, and what aperture priority and shutter priority can do for you, as they will open up so many options on HOW you photograph a given scene… :)

      April 16, 2011 at 7:11 pm

  2. Your blog has a wonderful ‘flow’, and I think a variety of posts only adds to its appeal.
    I enjoy some botanical imagery (for example), yet a blog that’s ‘all flowers, all the time’ tends to feel… TOO flowery to me.
    That’s probably my limited attention span talki… hey, look at this…
    :)

    April 16, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    • Well I’m glad at least the variety is an attraction, but I’m still not convinced about it’s flow… lol… and if it helps you will never see TOO many flowers on my blog… lol.. and I know exactly wha… ooooooh look, a shiny button…. ;)

      April 16, 2011 at 7:14 pm

  3. Avital Pinnick

    I think the variety is a refreshing change. I’m in a similar boat, because I have so many hobbies (including photography) but I could never maintain a blog for each of my interests. I had the same feeling, that my blogging friends who were more “focused” had nicer-looking blogs and had more traffic. These days, food blogs with plenty of recipes and little stories are really hot. Everyone needs to eat, after all! Then a blogging friend said that she liked the eclectic style of my blog. She said it was like eating a box of chocolates, each with a different filling. So I wouldn’t worry about the variety of your blog. After all, not everyone would call themselves “Funky Slug,” would they? You don’t fit into a box and neither does your blog.

    April 16, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    • I’d be useless at a food blog.. a) Can’t cook.. b) The food is never around long enough to photograph.. c) Oh and, can’t cook.. ;)
      I like your box of chocolates simile though, except it’s now making me think of Forrest Gump.. lol..

      April 17, 2011 at 3:25 am

  4. Guess I could be asking that very same question…
    Your blog is great, I’m SO glad I found it :-) I do like the variety, and whatever you decide to post, is fine with me. Always look forward to it.
    It’s your blog, it’s your life, and you’re showing us what you see through your camera’s lens… whether it all flows together or not.

    As for your pictures… we’re always our worst critic. Personally I think your photos are just as good (or even better!) than the ones on any of the other blogs I stalk… I mean visit!
    The above image is BEAUTIFUL!

    April 16, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    • Oh yeah… have a wonderful trip!

      April 16, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    • I guess most of those I visit are pretty varied too.. lol.. But I still tend to think they look more tied together and interesting.. lol.. But then I guess that’s just cos they’re fresher, as I only see them for the brief period I’m commenting… You’re so right though, we are our own worst critics, but then I guess that’s a good thing… Thanks Michaela.. :)

      April 17, 2011 at 3:30 am

  5. I like variety, Brian. Artists, here in town, talk about style all the time. I have decided I must not have one as I think anything goes in art. You have an interesting blog…. for sure!

    April 16, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    • I’ve always hoped I don’t have one either, as I wouldn’t want to be pigeon-holed in to a particular style… I’m glad you consider my blog interesting… Thanks Leslie.. :)

      April 17, 2011 at 3:33 am

  6. Another great shot! Definitely keep your blog however YOU feel comfortable! There’s really no “rhyme or reason” to mine, I shoot whatever I feel like shooting that day (if I feel like shooting at all). Sometimes it’s nature, sometimes it’s my kids, sometimes it’s wildlife…. or there’s just the random photo that doesn’t really fit any category. I think variety adds a real interest – there’s always a surprise!

    April 17, 2011 at 12:49 am

    • Many thanks Holly.. I’ve definitely no intention of stylizing my blog, so variety will remain for sure.. and there’s even more areas too I’d like to expand in to as well, such as portraiture… but I still wish there was some way to make it “look” more tied together.. lol..

      April 17, 2011 at 3:40 am

  7. aswirly

    Loves these leaves B! Beautiful color and I just adore how they seem to be popping right out of the photo. Very 3D. I think you know how I feel about your question. I mean, just look at my blog ;) I think it is your variety that makes your blog special and interesting. Keep doing what your doing.

    April 17, 2011 at 2:39 am

    • Thanks muchly you… Yeah we both throw some odd stuff on here don’t we… You more so than me obviously.. lol.. ;)
      Am glad though that the variety keeps the interest and specialness’ness high though.. :D

      April 17, 2011 at 3:43 am

  8. Jayne

    Lovely – they look as though they’ve been dipped in paint.

    I know what you mean about site design consistency but you can guess which direction I follow by my blog title! Sticking to one thing can, IMHO, become boring. I think it’s nice to mix it up.

    Have fun on your break.

    April 17, 2011 at 3:50 am

    • Haha… Thanks so much Jayne, and there was me thinking I was the only one up at stupid-o’clock… lol… Yet more proof that sticking to the norm can be boring… ;)

      April 17, 2011 at 3:56 am

  9. Well first off…this pic is a prime example as to why your blog works. It’s a great, vibrant, eye-catching shot. Not being an overly flowery person either I’m glad you’re not all flowers all the time but variety is a plus (including flora and fauna). The stories you write to accompany your images are yet another reason your blog is great as is. Your humor is apparent and part of the appeal to your posts.

    Keep being you, share your creative flare (to borrow a phrase from A) and post what pleases and interests you. We will keep tuning in for more :)

    April 17, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    • Haha… Yeah I’d be the first to admit that I’m not a flowery person, but even I thought these had potential.. Thanks so much for the compliments and positivity G, really do appreciate it… :D

      April 17, 2011 at 4:38 pm

  10. Very nice leaves, indeed. I like the concentrated focus. The reddish edges add a tropical look.
    I, too, like the variety of your blog, and it doesn’t leave any impression of being messy. On the contrary, it communicates diversity. It wouldn’t be interesting if you fit your work in tight range of professional photography. Pastels, pencils, cameras – you have all in one, and that’s a good way to show your personal curiosity in field you are feeling most comfortable. It is also demonstarting you in untied compilation and sponataniety. Changes and new ideas never affect your view in any negative way – just express it differently, because you choose to express it in different frames. Do what you think will express your outlook and add a special accent to this or that element of your interest. So, good luck :-)

    April 17, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    • Thanks so much Irina, Well it certainly seems as though the preference is for diversity, so that’s good all round then, as that’s the best way to keep learning and keep things fresh… and to continue to learn and evolve is a major goal… :)

      April 17, 2011 at 4:43 pm

  11. The best advice I can give you, Bri, is: follow your own path. I spent many years tryign to shoot what ‘folks might buy’. Made me miserable! I’d much rather shoot and show what I like. I think you will be happier if you do the same. You simply cannot predict what people will like and what they won’t.

    I like the variety! Keeps your photographic muscles ‘flexed!’ :-)

    April 18, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    • Yeah I agree… Part of me has always wanted to make a living from photography, but part of me is pretty sure it would become just like any other job if you HAVE to shoot what other people demand all the time… and defo not be so enjoyable.. I’ll keep “flexing” for sure… lol..

      April 22, 2011 at 8:33 pm

  12. I’m really glad I found your blog and I hope you won’t change anything about it! You’re photo looks very professional. I agree wiht Milkay, do what you like and not what others want you to do. ;)

    Keep up the great work! ;)

    April 19, 2011 at 12:17 am

    • Thanks so much Anne, I appreciate your comments too… :D

      April 22, 2011 at 8:35 pm

  13. Geez if your blog is “messy” as you say, then mine must be downright schizophrenic, LOL! Perhaps some of those more streamlined blogs have a jazzy, cool look to them, but I bet they don’t have the personality of a blog like yours (nor your wonderful way with Latin phrases!) I like the blogs that keep it fresh and interesting.
    Hope you are having a great trip and find plenty of wotsits to photograph.

    April 19, 2011 at 1:01 am

    • Lol..I quite like the sound of a schizophrenic blog… and Latin has always been my speciality… I’m not good with all languages though, especially algebra… Never could understand that… ;)

      And there defo were plenty wotsits too, even some of the smelly variety as well… Thanks Karen.. ;)

      April 22, 2011 at 8:38 pm

  14. For me, it’s not so much the subject matter as the quality – I’d much prefer a blog covering a dozen subjects at a consistently high quality to one that covers one subject with variable quality.

    So for me, as long as you keep posting great shots (and you do!) then I don’t care what they are of, I just want to see them!

    April 19, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    • Thanks JP… Well regardless of what I post, I’ve probably always been my own worst critic with regards quality, and definitely strive to achieve a certain level that pleases me… It doesn’t always work I guess, but I do what I can… ;)

      April 22, 2011 at 8:39 pm

  15. Val Erde

    The important thing to me, in a blog, Brian, is that the personality of the blog’s author comes through, and yours does in whatever you post here because you always accompany your images with words.

    April 21, 2011 at 11:38 pm

    • Thanks so much Val… Glad you appreciate the stuff I post… and the way I post it.. :)

      April 22, 2011 at 8:42 pm

  16. Val Erde

    And great pic, by the way!
    :)

    April 21, 2011 at 11:39 pm

  17. One thing about those consistently good blogs that focus on just one thing, BORING!!!
    Variety is the most interesting thing, not knowing what you will get next time round.
    My opinion, dont focus on one thing instead extend your variety.
    And as for Jack of all trades, master one none, you are looking at one and i love it that way.
    Please, keep the variety, i know i dont come by that often but it is allways nice to drop by here

    April 22, 2011 at 12:27 am

    • That’s always been my goal for sure, to extend my variety as far as I can photographically, and I’m always looking for new things to try… Thanks so much AWS..

      April 22, 2011 at 8:45 pm

Leave a Reply

