The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Ahoy There !!

This is HMS Warrior berthed in Portsmouth Harbour at sunset… Actually it’s been there a lot longer than that. When HMS Warrior was launched back in 1860, she was the largest, fastest and most powerful warship in the world… and was Britain’s first iron hulled and armoured warship. The pride of Queen Victoria’s fleet, she was both steam and sail powered… Fully restored in 1979, at a cost of £8 million, she’s now essentially a living museum, and is pretty impressive… Although maybe not quite so impressive as HMS Victory a few hundred metres away… Some pics of that some time soon…

Here’s the ships wheels on the upper deck, and judging by the size of them I’m guessing it must have taken some steering under rough conditions…

Btw, is it JUST me, or does anyone else hate it when people dress their kids in identical clothes !?!?… I’m sure my wife / kids did this JUST to annoy the heck out of me !!… lol.. All I can say is that I’m glad they’re not twins… or someone would be in serious trouble… ;)

Finally, here’s a view below decks on the main gun deck, showing one of the twenty two 68 pound guns, and a few itty bitty shells…

25 responses

  1. What a great sunset shot B. Looks like a sweet ride too. How long did they keep you in the brig after you tried taking her out for a spin? :D

    Bet the twins enjoyed exploring…although Amy is a wee bit taller than Kayla. I’d never have known they were twins if you hadn’t said so. Oh…wait…lol. ;)

    May 8, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    • Lol.. Ummmm, thanks so much G, and SHUT UP !!… ;)
      They couldn’t keep me for long, as I was able to squeeze out through the bars.. and twins.. Pfft !!.. lol.. ;)

      May 8, 2011 at 4:45 pm

  2. If we ever make it England on vacation, I’m going to come visit and go sunset shooting with you! GORGEOUS!
    I like the other pictures, too, and your processing in the last.
    My mom used to dress my sister and me identical ALL THE TIME! I hated it!! My sister and I are pretty close in age, too, and people would ask all the time if we were twins.
    Every once in a while my girls used to dress identical, but it was their choice, not mine.

    May 8, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    • Thanks Michaela, and you’d be most welcome too, although you might want to bring a stash of sunsets with you, as ours aren’t always this photogenic.. And lol.. I’m glad I’m not the only one with the whole identical clothes issue… At least here the kids WANTED to wear the same shirt too.. :)

      May 8, 2011 at 4:50 pm

  3. Woohoo, we finally get to see Mrs. Slug! She’s cute. They both are. So get over your dislike of matching mother/daughter outfits. :-)

    May 8, 2011 at 6:30 pm

    • LOL… Ummmm, I hate to disappoint Avital, but actually that’s not Mrs Slug.. They’re BOTH my daughters… lol… but thanks anyway… ;)

      May 8, 2011 at 7:00 pm

      • Aha — couldn’t really see her face in the shadow of her hat, so I didn’t realise how young she was. They’re still cute but I’m a bit surprised that the older one didn’t mind dressing in a matching t-shirt.

        May 8, 2011 at 7:02 pm

        • Haha.. Well she is only (nearly) 11, and believe it or not it was HER idea to get her little sister a matching t-shirt.. lol.. Kids !!.. ;)

          May 8, 2011 at 7:08 pm

  4. Okay – stupid question time…
    where does the 68 pound designation come from? Does that have something to do with shell / explosive weight? I’d guess I couldn’t curl one of those cannons (although I like to tell myself I could)!
    Seriously, though – awesome stuff, sir! Stunning sunset/silhouette and some amazing lighting in that bottom shot! :)

    May 8, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    • Yeah it’s all about the weight of the projectiles… They’ve also got a few 110 pound guns on HMS Warrior too… and at 4,800kg, I’m thinking curling the cannon “might” be a bit optimistic too.. lol… Thanks SIG.. :)

      May 8, 2011 at 7:04 pm

      • Hahaha – yeah, that does sound ‘a bit’ heavy… I’ll try to remember to lift with my legs and not with my back. ;)

        May 9, 2011 at 6:26 pm

  5. Great shots! I’ll e-mail this post to my Dad, he’ll love it (he insists he was a royal navy officer in a previous life :)).

    May 9, 2011 at 2:35 am

  6. aswirly

    They even having matching hats??? I bet you were dressed to match too and just won’t admit it since you’re not in the photo. ;)

    That is one seriously impressive lil’ boat. I bet you had a blast exploring it, and I must say that top shot is a real stunner. It is neat to see the boat against the modern skyline backdrop. Gotta love those lil guns too ;)

    May 9, 2011 at 3:27 am

    • Ummmm… NO !!… I didn’t !!… How dare you !!… lol… (actually I might have had on my special floral party dress… but shhhhh, don’t tell anyone !!).. ;)
      Thanks anyways A, it sure was a great day exploring this and HMS Victory.. :D

      May 9, 2011 at 7:04 am

  7. That last photo of the guns below-deck is awesome. I don’tlike guns but the warmth of the tones against the whit of the background is striking and the composition is so good! Love the repetition in it and my eye is straining to see what’s way back there!

    May 9, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    • Yeah I guess guns are pretty much a “boy” thing eh.. lol.. Thanks so much Leslie, glad you like the composition etc… :)

      May 9, 2011 at 5:56 pm

  8. I’m only echoing what others have already said here, but I really love the ship/sunset picture.
    Enjoy that the older daughter doesn’t mind the younger dressing in the same shirt! Wait til they’re teenagers – then OY! The things they’ll find to complain about, and about each other, LOL.

    May 10, 2011 at 12:49 am

    • Thanks so much Karen… and lol… The way they act sometimes you’d think they WERE teenagers… ;)

      May 14, 2011 at 11:02 pm

  9. I’m new to your site, clicking your linked comment @ Val Erde’s Absurd Old Bird. I am speechless at how gorgeous your photography is and had my OWN knees shaking at the photos atop the Spinnaker Tower. Great blog.

    May 12, 2011 at 1:00 am

    • Thanks so much EOSR… TThanks for your comment, and many thanks for the compliment… :)

      May 14, 2011 at 11:04 pm

  10. Oh, wow, that is sooo cool! I love all your pictures! They looks so professional. It’s fun to be able to see outside and… inside also! Fabulous work Brian!

    May 14, 2011 at 2:52 am

    • Thanks so much Anne, that’s quite the compliment coming from as good a photographer as you… :)

      May 14, 2011 at 11:06 pm

  11. Beautiful images. Close to where I live is HMS Trincomalle, the only floating warship from Nelson’s fleet. I’ve recently spent a lot of time aboard producing a visitor guide. I’m always amazed by the small details such as the rope ladders and the fighting decks. Ships of wood, men of iron.

    May 20, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    • Thanks so much Keith… These pieces of history certainly are fascinating… and I’m not sure I can really grasp how it would have felt to serve on one…

      May 23, 2011 at 11:08 pm

Leave a Reply

