The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Night Lights

As happy as I was with my previous “creative offering”, I wasn’t “quite” so happy to have it sitting in such a prominent place on my blog, as it didn’t seem to really fit with the general scheme of things, so I’m hitting you with another quick post, and I’ve moved it out of position slightly… Call me fickle… lol… I’m thinking it will be the beginning of a little series of fruity posts though (or at least food based), if I can dream up a few more ideas… ;)

So here’s a night shot taken whilst on holiday a while back… Oh to live in a cottage like this, even if it was directly opposite the churchyard that scared the wotsits out of my daughter… ;)

I also need to say a huge thank you to Natalie at Phusion Photography too, or The Fuse as per her Blog, for her glowing appraisal of  one of my early flickr HDR images, and how it inspired her to try it out… although I have to admit it’s an image I’d not be entirely impressed with these days…. but we live and learn and improve hopefully… Check out her sites, as they are amazing, and if I’m in any small way responsible for the images she produces now, then I’ll happily take the credit… lol…

29 responses

  1. The LowDown photo is eye-popping! I hadn’t seen it before on your site.

    May 31, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    • Thanks Avital, well it is quite an old shot for sure…

      June 1, 2011 at 9:32 pm

  2. So cool, F.S. – I love low-light / night stuff… there’s just ‘something’ about it!

    I’ve been very tempted to beg for HDR tips for some time, now. I’ve never tried it, although after drooling over your spectacular results I’ve watched my share of youtube videos. Your images are much more impressive than the ones I’ve seen there… so I’m still kinda’ wondering about the whole process… :)

    May 31, 2011 at 6:46 pm

    • Thanks so much SIG, there sure is something isn’t there about night photography.. I just wish I had more opportunity to pursue it… As for tips.. lol.. Well it all comes down to personal preference, and mine these days is generally for subtlety, and blending the HDR in with the original RAW file helps with that… Maybe I should throw together a quick tutorial one day… :)

      June 1, 2011 at 9:43 pm

      • Btw… This one isn’t actually an HDR… This is just a single 90sec exposure…

        June 1, 2011 at 9:45 pm

      • I know a magician doesn’t like to divulge all his secrets, but that would be AWESOME, F.S.! :)

        June 1, 2011 at 10:31 pm

  3. For some reason, this shot reminds me of Harry Potter, like maybe the Dursley’s neighborhood? :-)

    May 31, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    • LOL.. I can see where you get that feeling from, but I reckon it would be closer to the Weasley’s… ;)

      June 1, 2011 at 9:47 pm

  4. I like how the light from the street lamp is bouncing off the leaves in that tree, and the red tint to the sky.

    May 31, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    • Thanks Eden, that was one of the things also appealed to me, the way the tree seems to glow.. :)

      June 1, 2011 at 9:51 pm

  5. I do believe I might like a wee cottage…but not so near a graveyard methinks!!

    And a nice ode to your HDR work on The Fuse. See!! You really ARE famous. ;)

    Good stuff all around B!

    May 31, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    • Awwww, but it’s sooooo quiet there… and people are.. well.. yanno.. lol.. Thanks G, it was quite the ode eh.. If you want any signed prints then just let me know.. ;)

      June 1, 2011 at 9:55 pm

  6. Wow…I’m blushing. And I thank you for the very nice words. But, it’s clear that I’m only one of many fans of yours! Now…when are you going to do an HDR tutorial?? :)

    June 1, 2011 at 1:09 am

    • YOU’RE blushing… lol.. With your testimonial I should be the one doing the blushing… lol.. Thanks so much Natalie.. and maybe soon with the tutorial, but I know you don’t need one… :)

      June 1, 2011 at 9:59 pm

  7. aswirly

    Ooooh creepy. I’d be tempted to peek inside those cottage windows ;) You wouldn’t coz you’d be scared!! hehe… What a nice tribute to you B. Yup, you’re famous! ;)

    June 1, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    • HAHA… Am NOT !!!.. Takes more than a wee cottage to scare me, but I guess it does very much depend on what’s happening inside… lol… Famous eh.. lol… Thanks A… :)

      June 1, 2011 at 10:03 pm

  8. This is sooo nice! I don’t know why, but this somehow reminds me of arriving at my grandparents’ house late at night after driving all day to get there.. even though their house, or the area they lived in, looked nothing like this.

    June 1, 2011 at 10:58 pm

    • LOL… Well I’m glad it’s evoked such a memory, even if there is no reason behind it… but I’ll assume it’s a pleasant memory and that will do me.. ;)

      June 1, 2011 at 11:01 pm

      • Oh yes, definitely a pleasant memory. I LOVED visiting my grandparents, especially at Christmas time when my grandmother would have literal mountains of cookies waiting for us (she baked so many, they probably lasted until Easter!)

        June 1, 2011 at 11:10 pm

  9. Cool shot, Brian! The pink sky is beautiful and the cottage house looks soooo pretty!

    June 2, 2011 at 4:04 am

  10. Oh wauw, I love it! I think this is one of the reasons I love the UK.. It’s so serene and pretty and perfect for photo’s.

    June 2, 2011 at 2:42 pm

    • Thanks RR… Unfortunately it’s not all so quaint though… lol… but we do have a few nice spots.. :)

      June 8, 2011 at 9:02 pm

  11. Beautiful cottage and stunning photograph.Makes me miss the UK.

    June 3, 2011 at 11:45 am

    • Ahhhh, so you absconded then eh… lol… Thanks Samantha… :)

      June 8, 2011 at 9:06 pm

  12. I like the warm glow all around this night shot! Like you, a cottage like this would suit me just fine.

    June 4, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    • Thanks Leslie… It would sure suit me too… :)

      June 8, 2011 at 9:09 pm

  13. Love it, looks like Harry Potter should be around somewhere ;)

    July 2, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    • Haha… Thanks Kim… I’m thinking it was more likely to be “He who must not be named”… lol…

      July 3, 2011 at 7:06 pm

Leave a Reply

