The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Back 2 School II

Some of you may possibly recall the original Back to School post, from which visit these shots also come… I still have so many shots from that visit that require proper processing… and figured it was about time to air at least a couple more of them…

This particular school is an old abandoned girls school… and for a bit of urban exploring they don’t come much better… I find it amazing though that a mirror like this is still there, and even more amazing that it’s still in one piece… although I do know it’s now sporting some rather elaborate¬†graffiti…

The place was originally built as the privately owned Lillesdon Estate Mansion, way back in 1855, and became a public girls school just after the 1st world war… It eventually closed around 1999, and has been abandoned ever since… and I believe is now owned by a property developer who is intending to convert the building in to private apartments at some point in the future…. The place is amazing though, with so many rooms… Still need to arrange that return visit though…

32 responses

  1. wow… such an awesome aura. You look like a modern scientist in that place, Brian, equipped with the latest tools of technology :-)

    June 8, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    • Haha… Thanks so much Irina… Not sure I’ve ever been compared to a scientist before… ;)

      June 8, 2011 at 10:19 pm

  2. Too cool! What an awesome place!
    If breaking a mirror is worth 7 years of bad luck, I would think tagging one up would be worth at least 3.5 (those are numbers I’m not willing to mess around with)!
    Wonderful shots, F.S. – very, very nicely done! :)

    June 8, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    • LOL… The size of the mirror may well explain why no one has been brave enough to mess with superstition… Thanks SIG… It sure was an amazing place… I do love a spot of urbex’ing…

      June 8, 2011 at 10:23 pm

  3. What an amazing place…wish we had something like that around these parts!! Cool shots and you didn’t even break the mirror! ;)

    I’ll go with you next time you decide to explore. As soon as my ship comes in, I win the lottery, or a long lost relative leaves me millions in their will (as it’s too far to swim I’d prefer a plane ride). LOL

    June 8, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    • Haha… Thanks G… I think !!!…. So you’re waiting for your ship to come in to fly you to the UK !?!?!… lol… Mefinks you’ve been watching some odd films riding on these flying ships… ;)

      June 8, 2011 at 10:28 pm

  4. Wow. Cool building :)

    June 8, 2011 at 10:42 pm

    • Thanks Eden… These abandoned buildings sure do make real interesting (but dangerous) subjects…

      June 8, 2011 at 10:45 pm

  5. LOVE that place! Hope you get to go back soon!
    The floors look a bit scary, but the light is amazing. Great self-portrait (my favorite kind! ) Did you have to give the mirror a good cleaning first?

    June 9, 2011 at 12:33 am

    • Oh trust me, this particular floor was sound… but the next level up was a completely different story… It was severely rain damaged, and like walking on tissue paper in places… So dangerous, but fun… And nah the mirror was like this… I think they must have had the cleaners in.. ;)

      June 9, 2011 at 6:58 am

  6. Cool place! Makes me think of Harry Potter… the school, the mirror, the old walls, pretty awesome! Wish I could find something like that around here.

    PS : I’m coming with Gina on this ship of hers, as soon as I win the lottery. ;)

    June 9, 2011 at 12:50 am

    • LOL… The more the merrier… Thanks Anne… It was a great find… :)

      June 9, 2011 at 6:59 am

  7. You even take a tripod with you! You’re so disciplined! What a wonderful place to photograph. How do you get into these places? Aren’t they usually locked and boarded up to prevent squatters and drug dealers from moving in?

    June 9, 2011 at 4:56 am

    • Oh you have to take a tripod in to places like this, as the light generally is so poor… As for getting in… *ahem*… Well yeah, they are usually locked up, but there’s nearly always a hole somewhere… Where there’s a will there’s a way as they say, but I’d never actually break in if there wasn’t a hole… Thanks Avital..

      June 9, 2011 at 7:03 am

  8. Whenever a photographer does this, I always yearn to see a “before” picture. I don’t know much about this, but do you need to gain permission to enter these buildings? Seems like they would be a danger .
    Photos are excellent and make me want to see more, Brian.

    June 9, 2011 at 5:40 am

    • Thanks Leslie… Yes I bet this place was quite something in its day… As for gaining permission…. lol… That would be nice, but generally these places are too dangerous for someone to “allow” you to go in there… You just have to ensure you go in pairs at least… and are VERY careful…

      June 9, 2011 at 7:05 am

  9. You have the coolest sites to roam! I bet you cna just feel the history in that place and if you close your eyes, can picture the rooms in their hey-day. The architectural details are fantastic! Now THAT’S what I call a skylight – just beautiful! Killer archways, too. Oh, how I wish someone would restore it!

    Any idea what room this is?

    June 9, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    • Well, we have “some” of them at least… lol… Not that we’re technically allowed to roam them though… ;) As for the room itself, this was just the central area at the top of the main staircase… It is an amazing place though eh… and as far as I’m aware it is intended to be restored (or at least turned in to apartments).. :)

      June 9, 2011 at 6:51 pm

  10. An abandoned building like this is a photographer’s dream…f-ing awesome Brian! Who took the picture of you?? HaHa. Great post-processing on the images as usual. And…i agree that it’s amazing the mirror is still intact. I guess you’d really need a lack of conscience to destroy such a great piece of history like that. Apparently, there aren’t many psychopaths roaming around England. :-)

    June 9, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    • You’re not wrong there Natalie.. I do love abandoned buildings and the unique shots they offer up… As for the picture of me… well that would be me !!… lol… No one else would be brave enough… ;)
      I think you’d be surprised at just how many so called psychopaths we have here though, as one of our best kept secrets for urbexing was discovered by the masses, and subsequently destroyed / robbed / vandalised within months…

      June 9, 2011 at 6:59 pm

  11. Oh wow. These are great. I would love an opportunity to roam around buildings like that. An unbroken mirror in abandoned building is an amazing find.

    June 9, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    • Thanks so much Robin… I sure do love abandoned places like this, and the mirror was an added bonus… :)

      June 9, 2011 at 7:02 pm

  12. aswirly

    Well hello there! These are just awesome. You know how I love your urbex shots. Fantastic! And I love your processing too with it’s secret touch of slugginess. I can’t believe you waited so long to air these.

    June 9, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    • Thanks so much A… You spotted the hint of them being slug’d then eh… lol… Well it had to be done I’m afraid, but I kinda think it works better with urbex than most other subjects… I still have LOTS more to play with too, that haven’t seen the light of day as of yet… Maybe one day… ;)

      June 9, 2011 at 9:19 pm

  13. What an absolutely incredible place! Wow! beautiful photography. What an amazing school.

    June 11, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    • It certainly was incredible… Thanks so much Samantha… I feel a return trip looming… :)

      June 12, 2011 at 4:13 pm

  14. This is absolutely stunning.

    June 14, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    • Thanks so much RR… I love places like this, although they’re not quite as picturesque as a nice sunset…

      June 14, 2011 at 10:46 pm

  15. Dedy Iswanto a.k.a Didex

    Lovely pictures

    July 3, 2011 at 7:07 pm

  16. Shayna

    Your work is phenomenal…. breathtakingly beautiful. I’ve looked at post after post and have admired each photograph. They really are art. Thanks for sharing!

    July 30, 2011 at 3:30 am

    • Thank you so much for your visit and your extremely kind comment…. :D

      August 12, 2011 at 7:09 pm

Leave a Reply

