The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Let’s All Streak…

Firstly, a quick apology for being utterly blog absent for the past almost couple of weeks, but I’ve been suffering from broadband speeds reminiscent of syrup rolling uphill… and my patience in waiting 6 weeks for every single page to load very quickly wore almost as thin as my hair…

I’d like to say it gave me plenty of time to edit images, but unfortunately not, as I have developed the usual disinterest in shots that are more than a week old… lol… I’m sure I have plenty old shots to air, and maybe I’ll get round to them sooner or later… Speaking of which, here’s one that has been gathering dust for a while now… I’m hoping to get a few more star shots soon, as I’ve a nice little trip planned to a real picturesque area… weather and darkness permitting… ;)

As for the broadband issues… Well fingers crossed they’re resolved now, but I’m only crossing fingers, as holding my breath may result in some discolouration… It has been pretty frustrating though, as the so called “tech experts” available at the end of the phone were very quickly established to be JUST a call centre in some far away land, who’s only qualification seemed to be the ability to read the exact same list of questions from the screen in front of them… “Have you re-started your router / Have you re-started your computer / Have you unplugged your phone / Have you had this exact same conversation 10 times before / Have you realised I have absolutely no idea what I’m talking about / Have you got ANY patience left at all”….. You get the idea…. The WORST thing though, was that THEIR online speedtester told me that THEY had restricted the IP profile speed on my line, hence my speed problems… and despite informing them of this particular key result, they were unable to assist, as this wasn’t on their list of “Have you turned it off and on again” questions !!!…  Every time I spoke to them, the only solution seemed to be “I’ve re-set everything, and it’ll all be fine in the morning”…. Ummmm…. NO !!!… lol… Finally they sent an engineer out, and his FIRST response to my rant was “Well yes indeed… They’ve restricted the IP profile speed on your line… That’s why your broadband is cr*p !!, why didn’t they just remove the restriction !?!?”….

Hmmmmm…. Now why didn’t I think of that !!!….

Rant complete… Normal service will be resumed shortly… Hopefully… :)

40 responses

  1. Firstly, the title here had me a wee bit worried. Lol

    Wasn’t sure I was up to a “streaking” slug :D

    Pretty glow to that sky with you streaky star bits. I’ve yet to have a chance to catch me some stars. Drat!!

    Glad your Internet issues have cleared up. Everybody hates a sluggish web…or is that…pages that load at a snails pace?! ;)

    July 18, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    • Haha… I wondered who’d be the first to mention things being a bit sluggish… Might have known it’d be you… Thanks G… Are you actually allowed out at night, or is it just the full moon you have to avoid… ;)

      July 18, 2011 at 9:45 pm

  2. Ugh. We’ve been battling it out with our cable/internet company as well trying to get them to service us at our new house. Looks like we’re going to go with another company. It’s all enough to make one wonder if they purposefully try to make your life more difficult. Anyway, have fun on your trip! :)

    July 18, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    • They sure don’t make things easy do they… but they’re more than happy to help remove our hard earned cash when it’s time to pay the monthly rental… lol… Thanks Eden…

      July 18, 2011 at 9:47 pm

  3. Internet, blog, commenting, processing and posting photos, and most importantly, have a life… is quite demanding. ;) I relate to you on this. I’m having difficulty to be constant in all these approaches. Since I finished my 365 project I should feel more relief, but somehow I don’t. I think I’m (over) due for a vacation. ;)

    By the way, love your photo, the light is very nice.

    July 19, 2011 at 12:18 am

    • I think I’m overdue a vacation too… Fortunately I don’t have to wait too long… Thanks Anne…

      July 19, 2011 at 5:30 pm

  4. The only thing worse than slow Internet is no Internet at all. I think! LOL
    Funny how they always try to tell you that the problem is on YOUR end, isn’t it? I hate dealing with customer support… they never know what the heck they’re doing.

    Your photo is STUNNING!! I’m glad you dusted it off :-)

    July 19, 2011 at 1:00 am

    • Well I dunno… I’m sure being stuck on the moon without a spaceship might rate quite high too… lol… or being stuck in a gator infested swamp with nothing but a raw steak swimsuit would be pretty bad as well.. ;) Thanks Michaela… :)

      July 19, 2011 at 5:36 pm

  5. What a truly stunnning capture. I’m sorry you’ve had computer woes, technology is great when it works….

    July 19, 2011 at 7:54 am

    • Thanks so much Samantha… Hopefully things are resolved now…. :)

      July 19, 2011 at 5:40 pm

  6. slow internet has honestly got to be one of the most frustrating things in life lol
    it drives me nuts!

    & i also loose interest in photos i didnt edit straight away

    this is beautiful, i like the crispness of the water

    July 19, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    • Yeah it sure has been frustrating… and to think we used to ONLY have the option of the speeds I had been reduced too… Thanks Chloe… :)

      July 19, 2011 at 5:43 pm

  7. What a gorgeous image – not sure why, but for some reason when I look at it, it reminds me of “Legend of the Seeker” – it is beautiful!!

    It is one of the most frustrating things in the world when I’m having computer/internet problems, I feel so helpless! The IT “help” is usually no help at all. Hope it gets fixed soon!!

    July 19, 2011 at 1:57 pm

    • Ahhh, had to google that one, as I’m not sure it’s ever been shown over here… Glad you liked it though… Fortunately the “real” person was able to understand the problem I was having, and fixed it real quick… Let’s just hope it doesn’t come back..

      July 19, 2011 at 5:47 pm

  8. Beautiful image, FS! I can certainly sypathize with the techinical woes. Hopefully it will be resolved soon. :)

    July 19, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    • Thanks so much Ted… Glad to say it appears to all be functioning well right now… :)

      July 19, 2011 at 5:49 pm

  9. So sorry for your internet woes, Brian! My internal PC guy handles all that for me! :-)

    July 19, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    • Well I have to admit that the PC woes I normally sort out myself too.. Unfortunately though my service provider seemed unwilling to let my loose on their exchange servers.. lol.. Not sure why !!.. ;)

      July 19, 2011 at 9:48 pm

  10. Oh the joys of dealing with a call center somewhere far away that can’t do a thing to help. I have cable internet, but no cable television. Having had frequent trouble with intermittent connectivity throughout the years, I call the cable company a lot. I humor them by going through the check list of questions they have to ask. Then I humor them again by saying I will reset everything while we’re on the phone (I never do it, I just tell them I am doing it because chances are I’ve already reset everything at least twice before phoning them). When we finish and they establish they have to send someone out to check the line (as usual), they ask me if I’d like to subscribe to their cable television and/or digital phone service. I politely remind them that my connection frequently doesn’t work so I’d not only be frustrated with a bad internet connection, I’d have no working phone to call them with if I had their digital phone service.

    I hope all is working well for you now. That photo is gorgeous. I’d like to see more. :)

    July 19, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    • Lol.. It’s funny you mention the television too, as my service provider is also a major player in cable tv, and there’s no way I’d ever opt for that given the flaky nature of their broadband service… and you’re not the only one who humours the call centres… As if we haven’t already turned it off, and turned it back on again… lol… Thanks Robin, I have a few more night shots to offer up too at some point… :)

      July 19, 2011 at 10:18 pm

  11. Oh I just went through that cable call-center crap this morning – first with an automated call-taker, then with a human ( I assume it was human) with nasally voice and a difficult accent! My Internet has been randomly shutting itself off. Your photo is gorgeous – and perhaps shows us the suns that the home planets of the call center workers revolve about!

    July 20, 2011 at 3:22 am

    • LOL… Thanks Karen, well I sure hope you manage to get your internet problems resolved too… I think there’s a conspiracy theory behind all our internet woes, but I’ve not yet dreamt up one that’s interesting enough… ;)

      July 20, 2011 at 7:04 am

  12. Absolutely stunning composition in this one, Brian. The light in the sky fills my thoughts with alien mystery. Beautiful.

    July 20, 2011 at 6:36 am

  13. aswirly

    Well you know how much I like streaking, ahem, I mean, Star trails!! It’s always amazing the colors you get in the sky too with the long exposures. Very very nice… although not so nice to hear about your crazy internet problems. ugh… I hope the frustration is resolved now.

    July 20, 2011 at 7:19 am

    • Haha… Yeah I’d heard rumours… ;) Real glad you like it A, being the streaking expert an all.. :D

      July 20, 2011 at 6:43 pm

  14. BTW, would you be willing to share settings and lens info?

    July 20, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    • Settings are no secret at all Karen… This was all fully manual… ISO 100, f5.6, 6 minute exposure, 10mm focal length, manual focus just shy of infinity I think… I think that about covers it… Oh, and I shot in RAW on auto white balance… :)

      July 20, 2011 at 6:40 pm

  15. Ugh, incompetent tech support – so annoying! Fingers crossed it’s sorted now.

    I like this shot – love the colour in the sky and the sense of light, even though it’s a night shot.

    July 21, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    • Thanks so much JP… It’s amazing how much colour long exposures bring out at night isn’t it…

      July 24, 2011 at 2:43 pm

  16. hey there Brian! Great shot. I love the color of the sky. 6 minute exposure? I guess you’ve gotten a lot of practice in patience with your internet problems and all…LOL. Glad to see you’re back online posting images. Can’t wait to see more!

    July 21, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    • Haha… Thanks Natalie… 6 minutes was one of the shorter shots of the night though.. I was mainly taking 15 min shots for the best star trails… I love the colours in the sky too….

      July 24, 2011 at 2:44 pm

  17. What a beautiful picture!

    July 24, 2011 at 3:46 pm

  18. Jayne

    Computers are both a joy and a pain in the rear. I’ve just got a brand spanking new computer to replace the ‘old duck’ that I’d struggled on with for 10 years. I know you’ll understand when I say that transferring stuff has driven me up the ferkin wall and I’m now an unwilling expert on the thing. You’ll also understand that I know *exactly* what you mean about shonky inernet function. Yes, the struggling old ‘puter was largely to blame for all the s~l~o~w internet problems I was having but there are still times when I suspect that an engineer is sitting along the road at the junction box merrily tweaking things in order to make someone *else’s* internet connection better. As for call centres…don’t get me started. Yes, I know they’re trying to do their jobs but reading from a sheet of responses doesn’t help and doing so in what is sometimes a very strong foreign accent that is hard to understand is an instant wind-up.

    July 24, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    • Well I thought my problems were fixed, but now I’m not so sure… Maybe you aforementioned engineer has decided to swap islands, and is now sitting at the end of my road… lol.. Glad to hear you’ve got some new kit, but I oh so do NOT envy you said transferring… lol.. So glad I keep my pictures backed up on a separate drive.. Thanks Jayne..

      July 27, 2011 at 10:46 pm

  19. I feel your pain!
    Wouldn’t it be nice if everything just worked the way it was intended to? We do have your stunning images, though, F.S.! And that makes up for an awful lot! This one absolutely glows, sir! Awesome!
    :)

    August 2, 2011 at 3:07 am

    • Oh yes indeed SIG… Fingers crossed it’s mostly behaving itself now, although never perfect…

      August 15, 2011 at 8:30 pm

  20. Very Cool Shoot….

    August 2, 2011 at 4:08 pm

Leave a Reply

