The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

And We’re Back…

…with shots a-plenty, and a few stories to boot… Well, when I say shots-a-plenty, what I actually mean is I took plenty of shots, have discarded most of them as they’re not “quite” good enough (or I’m bored with them already), and I have now narrowed the list of some +700 shots down to just “a” postable shot… or maybe two… lol… Yeah OK, maybe I have a few more than that, but what I don’t post over the next few weeks may very well end up in the back of my digital closet… ;)

We’ve spent some quality time recently in The New Forest, which is a beautiful 220 sq mile tract of unenclosed pasture land, heathland and forest, where wild New Forest Ponies and donkeys and cows (and sometimes pigs) are free to roam wherever they please… ummmm, even in to your cottage, if you accidentally leave the door open… which will be one of the stories… ;)

27 responses

  1. For some reason I think of Hobbiton when I look at that first shot. :) Love it!
    Welcome back!

    August 15, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    • LOL… Well I’d not made that connection myself… As long as the Nazgul stay away… ;)

      August 15, 2011 at 9:48 pm

  2. Gina

    Hmmm…pigs in the cottage? Is that anything like pigs in a blanket?! ;)

    Quite the lovely place you have there. Wouldn’t mind hiding out in such a place for a wee bit. Just so long as the big bad wolf isn’t part of the story!!

    BTW…if you’d like to donate your the unused items in the back of your digital closet…I’ll take em off your hands :)

    August 15, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    • No no no… Not pigs… lol… Ponies…. and definitely no blankets… ;)
      Thanks G, it certainly was quite the place… I have a few spiders in my closet if you’re still interested… lol..

      August 15, 2011 at 9:50 pm

  3. aswirly

    Oh man Brian, the light you’ve captured in these shots is stunning. Such a beautiful warm glow to these images. It looks like a beautiful place and I do hope you post more. Fight that urge to bury them all away. hehe… I know what you mean though. I tire of my pics just as soon as I shoot them ;) You had a pig in your cottage? um… hopefully in the form of bacon? hmmm

    August 15, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    • Thanks so much A… It was one of those evenings for sure… No stunning sunset, but a beautiful warm glow… And lol… Nope. t’wasn’t a pig, but it was almost a pony… oh, and some donkeys too… More on that later… :)

      August 15, 2011 at 9:52 pm

  4. Looks like an amazing place! And what spectacular light! Of course, if I had a wild animal in my cottage all the candlepower in the world wouldn’t be enough to make me feel at home! Welcome back, sir! I’d look forward to checking out any and all of those 700+ shots! You are far too modest for your amazing talent, sir!
    :)

    August 15, 2011 at 9:40 pm

    • It sure is a stunning area SIG… and you’re far too kind… :D

      August 15, 2011 at 9:53 pm

  5. I would love to have a holiday such as you just took.I am a sucker for horse photos. Any horse photos, Brian and I have never seen a forest pony, so thank you for posting one. The first shot looks like a place I could stay awhile, easily and I really like that glow you captured in that photo.

    August 16, 2011 at 1:40 am

    • I do indeed have a few more New Forest Pony shots, and donkeys too, that I’m sure will feature on here at some point in the very near future… It certainly is a beautiful place… Thanks Leslie..

      August 16, 2011 at 5:37 pm

  6. Lovely Lighting in the pictures….

    August 16, 2011 at 4:45 am

    • Thanks Didex… It certainly was perfect lighting for photography..

      August 16, 2011 at 5:38 pm

  7. yay you’re back! these two photos are gorgeous
    i bet you had such a good time

    August 16, 2011 at 10:40 am

    • Thanks so much Chloe, and we did indeed have an amazing time..

      August 16, 2011 at 5:38 pm

  8. Don’t you wish those pictures came off the memory card already edited? I took waaay too many pictures on our vacation, too, and need to be more ruthless in deciding which to keep and which to delete, because the keepers ALL get edited. Just can’t bing myself not to.

    Sounds like quite the interesting vacation!
    Btw. I got to see your original post (on Saturday??)… LOL Unfortunately you had taken it down by the time I got a chance to comment.

    August 16, 2011 at 11:09 am

    • Oh you’re not wrong there Michaela… I’m quite choosy these days though, and probably only “fully” edit about 3-4% of the shots take… What a waste eh.. lol…

      As for the original post… Well… Someone who’s opinion I value highly suggested that maybe the masses (those who don’t know me) weren’t quite ready for such a story, and I think they were probably right in hindsight, so I figured it best to remove it… Glad it gave you a bit of a giggle though… :)

      August 16, 2011 at 6:08 pm

  9. Welcome back, Bri! The New Forest is lovely, indeed!

    Yes, I am also glad I got to read the original posting… your humor is priceless! One day, your daughter WILL get you back! :-)

    August 16, 2011 at 11:44 am

    • Thanks so much Tracy.. As for the original post… thanks also… and ditto my response to Michaela… And I have no doubt I will one day pay for my sense of humour… ;)

      August 16, 2011 at 6:11 pm

  10. The light is just beautiful – as are the landscape and your pictures. I expect to see more than a few shots!

    August 16, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    • Thanks JP… The light was quite amazing that evening… and there’s more shots in waiting… :)

      August 16, 2011 at 6:12 pm

  11. What lovely, warm light!! Animals have no sense of privacy… very rude to intrude without an invitation (or is an open door an invitation?) Welcome back. :)

    August 16, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    • LOL… You’re not wrong there Ted, and he didn’t even offer to make me a cup of tea either…

      August 17, 2011 at 5:24 pm

  12. Val

    New forest ponies… I remember that from childhood and it’s several…ahem… decades since I was last there, but I used to love the place. Great photos, Brian and thanks for the nostalgia. :)

    August 21, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    • The ponies certainly are great to see, and the kids absolutely loved it there… Thanks Val..

      August 22, 2011 at 6:42 pm

  13. I’m very much looking forward to more of your stories! I received two emails telling me of this post, and now that I’ve read Michaela’s and Tracy’s comments I wish I had been able to read the original, as I love your sense of humor (maybe you’d consider emailing it to me?)

    August 21, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    • Oh ho! Turns out the original was in my email in its entirety! LOL!
      P.S. you can delete this comment if you’d like!

      August 21, 2011 at 8:53 pm

      • And you probably now realise why I thought it a good idea to edit the post somewhat… lol… Thanks Karen.. :)

        August 22, 2011 at 6:43 pm

Leave a Reply

