The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Karma’s August Rainbow Challenge

Well here are my entries for the Rainbow Challenge… Fortunately due to a fairly pleasant summer most of the shots are all entirely new and “kinda” summery… but I had to throw a couple of old favourites in there too..

Red – and I have to confess to struggling to find any decent red shots, so you’ll have to make do with a nice little red Ferrari Dino 246 from our summer hols… Not mine unfortunately, but it was in Beaulieu Motor Museum that we visited during our summer hols, so it counts… Oh, and one of those red things from the garden too (not my garden though)…

Orange – Can’t possibly do orange without including a sunset or two (or three).. The first one is from this summer, but the other two are a couple of old orange favourites…

Yellow – More garden based smelly stuff, but I just had to include one of the stripey little fellows too… busy as a bee and all that…

Green – with a spattering of blue too from this summer… Guess they speak for themselves hopefully…

Blue – both taken from summer trips out this year… The first being a surprisingly clear stretch of wonderfully blue water in between Hurst Castle and the Isle of Wight…  Tempting as it may look though, you’d definitely not want to swim in it, as the tide was ripping past this headland faster than my wife spends my wages… lol.. The other was the Spinnaker tower, and you might recall a couple of shots I posted from the viewing platform right at the top !!!…

Purple – Well, more smelly based stuff here I’m afraid, but I couldn’t help but throw in a couple of late evening purples too, one from an old sunset shot, and the last from one of this summers star trail chasing outings… :)

Mefinks that’s enough colour for one day… :)

OH… And the not so bonus bonus shot… with a little bit more Red, Blue and Green… It’s me.. Ummm… Dying For A Drink !!… ;)

37 responses

  1. Chloe [Photographer]

    wow those sunset shots are outstanding – i like the compositions and the colours your captured

    August 28, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    • Thanks Chloe… I sure do love a nice sunset, even if the locations aren’t always the most flattering…

      August 28, 2011 at 12:29 pm

  2. Well shoot, and I was going to ask if I can borrow that car for a week-end ;-)

    They’re all gorgous photos… can’t pick a favorite.

    August 28, 2011 at 12:42 pm

    • That’s supposed to be “gorgeous”! I swear I can spell, it’s just a little too early in the morning here with not enough sleep.

      August 28, 2011 at 12:44 pm

      • Lol… Don’t worry about it, my smelling is just as bad first thing in the morning.. Ummm.. or should that be spelling.. ;)

        August 28, 2011 at 1:33 pm

  3. Gina

    All fab shots B…the gem here IMHO is the second “green” shot. I want it. Now. Hanging on my wall! It’s stunning. LOVE it!!! :)

    August 28, 2011 at 1:19 pm

    • WHA !!… You mean you don’t have any shots of all the wonderful hills you have round your… oh… flatlands… OH !!… Thanks G… ;)

      August 28, 2011 at 1:35 pm

  4. This is a great rainbow of shots. Especially love the purple shots!

    August 28, 2011 at 2:01 pm

  5. As always I am blown away by your collection of photos! But might I remind you that you were the one who suggested I ban photos of the smelly things for this hunt? ;-)
    The bee all covered in pollen is just stunning. There’s a real feeling that goes with the shot of the hill that I just can’t put my finger on; I’d say “lonliness” but that’s too sad – peaceful solitary maybe?
    I was waiting to see what you would do with the self portrait, as I was sure it would be something creative; love the ghostly Funky Slug! :-)

    August 28, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    • Ummm… Oh yeah… So I did.. lol… Well hey, if you can’t beat em’ join em I say.. ;)
      Thanks so much Karen.. Glad you liked the bee and the hill, and the SP.. lol..

      August 28, 2011 at 3:33 pm

  6. Wonderful entries as always, Brian! My two favs are the bee and the green expanse of grass and the lone tree. Beautifully composed.

    Clever self-portrait!

    August 28, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    • Thanks so much Tracy… Have to admit I was quite pleased with how those two turned out as well.. :)

      August 28, 2011 at 5:27 pm

  7. aswirly

    This is a great collection B! That Ferrari is oh so sweet, and I love that fuzzy wuzzy bee. You just HAD to add something fuzzy of course ;) That green expanse with the tree, and the new one of the water simply blows me away. And of course you KNOW I love the dying for a drink shot. A funky classic!! :))

    August 28, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    • Haha… Well you know me.. ;) Thanks so much A, seems the one tree hill is becoming quite the fave, and to think I’ve been hanging on to that one for months, thinking it didn’t quite cut it… ;)

      August 28, 2011 at 6:11 pm

  8. Not fair! Too many amazing shots! Each image is spectacular! Although I’m particularly drawn to the railroad tracks… and the green hill… and the purple sunset… and… who am I kidding? I couldn’t possibly choose! Very, very nicely done, F.S… but still not fair.
    :)

    August 28, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    • Yet again SIG, you’re far too kind… FAR too kind… :D

      August 28, 2011 at 8:32 pm

  9. For someone who said he struggled with this, you did a mighty fine job. They are all incredible shots. I covet that car, by the way. Just saying.

    I don’t know that I can pick a favorite. But I would like to know how you did that Dying for a Drink shot. Very cool. :)

    August 29, 2011 at 1:40 am

    • Lol.. Well I always struggle trying to put together even 2 shots in a single post.. I genuinely don’t know how you manage to pick so many great shots for yours every time… As for the car, I think you’ll find that Michaela coveted it second (as I got there first.. lol).. but you can borrow it after that.. ;)
      The dying for a drink… lol… Well it wasn’t that difficult really, as I just took one shot with me in it (and the camera set on a tripod), then moved out the way and immediately took another shot… then just blended to two in photoshop, and reduced the opacity of the shot with me in it… Well, that’s the simplified explanation at least… lol… There may have been a little more faffing about, but essentially that was it.. :)

      August 29, 2011 at 5:47 pm

  10. tajmutthall

    Beautifully done, all of them! Particularly the red flower zoom, the 3rd sunrise, the bee, the green field with the tire tracks through it, the coast photo, your purple flower, and the self-portrait.

    August 29, 2011 at 1:48 am

    • Thanks so much… Glad you liked so many of them… :)

      August 29, 2011 at 5:49 pm

  11. wow! Incredible series, love all of your work, specially the ghost one, very cool.

    August 29, 2011 at 2:12 am

    • Thanks so much Anne… Glad you liked the shots I put together.. :)

      August 29, 2011 at 5:51 pm

  12. Love the orange hill, the green hill and the purple stars…all my favorites, loved lots of others too…the train tracks…the bee…the ghosty you….

    August 30, 2011 at 12:34 am

    • Thanks so much Dawn… glad you liked… ummmm… so many…. :D

      September 4, 2011 at 11:49 am

  13. Val

    Stunning photos, and a lovely display to represent the rainbow. Well done! :)

    August 30, 2011 at 12:35 pm

  14. Stunning,,, lovely colors… amazing all pictures

    August 31, 2011 at 4:50 pm

  15. Pingback: August Photo Hunt Wrap-Up « Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

  16. I really like that shot of the green selections with the straight track upthe hill. The red, blue, green? Awesome, Brian.

    September 2, 2011 at 5:04 am

  17. Nye

    Brian, these are amazing shots, absolutely love the vibrant colors.

    September 2, 2011 at 5:50 am

    • Thank you so much Nye… Very kind of you..

      September 4, 2011 at 11:53 am

  18. very good selection of works nice quality and great eye. It is pleasure to be on Your blog, regards from Poland
    Em

    January 31, 2014 at 6:06 pm

  19. Elaine

    Love your pics from Flickr. Are you still posting anywhere? Elaine

    October 22, 2017 at 6:49 pm

    • Hi Elaine. Mainly just on Instagram these days, as “funkyslug” and my personal Facebook page. Haven’t used Flickr or WordPress in forever.

      October 22, 2017 at 11:27 pm

Leave a Reply

