The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Pony Pandemonium

More from our recent holiday in the New Forest… oh, and a touch more about the ever so friendly wildlife too…

So you may recall that I mentioned the free roaming New Forest Ponies and Donkeys in my “And We’re Back” post, and how they are even free to roam in to your cottage if you leave the door open… Well as a bonus, here’s a shot of said Pony… The big one that is, and not the smaller one you see in the background…

Anyways, when we rented the cottage, the owner kindly left a list of useful things, such as what time the fish and chip van stopped outside, and where else to eat.. and drink.. and stuff… But at the bottom of the list in block capitals was a polite request to “always close the gate, as the ponies and donkeys will eat the bushes in the garden”…

So early one morning I’m loading the car with all the important essentials for the day (my camera gear) and figure “It’s early, no one’s around, and my hands are full”… So I’m busily putting stuff in the back of the car when I hear the clip clop of hooves, and turn round to see said pony checking out if there’s anything to eat in there as well… Anywho, I carry on and she gets bored and wanders off…

That’s when I remember that I’ve left the gate open… Oooops… But not only the gate, I’ve also left the front door to the cottage wide open too, and said pony is standing in the gateway, sizing up the front door to see if it’s big enough to fit through… Arrrrrrgh… Fortunately me screaming like a girl was sufficient enough of a distraction to dissuade her from following through with her plan to enter the cottage, and no doubt finish off the dishes.. ;)

Naturally the shot is post event, as it’s difficult to focus when you’re running like a cheetah on speed…

Oh, and as a bonus bonus… Couldn’t resist this… How cool is it to catch these two drinking from a dogs bowl outside the post office right next door… :D

23 responses

  1. Well now…can’t say as I’ve heard a tail, er…tale quite like that! Considering the state of the dishes (wouldn’t they have needed washing?) perhaps inviting said pony/horse inside would’ve meant less to clean later…? Just a suggestion ;)

    Cool pics B…such a great location. I’m betting there are more tales to be shared and photos to back ’em up! Sure glad you managed to care for all that essential camera gear whilst running like a cheetah (and surely squalling like a crazed grandma…LOL).

    September 12, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    • LOL… You may be right there G… but I think taking said dishes outside for them to be licked clean might have been preferable… ;)
      And there may be a tale or two more… lol… squealing aside obviously… ;)

      September 12, 2011 at 9:32 pm

  2. aswirly

    Free roaming eh? What a strange thing. I can’t believe how you disregarded the instructions though about not leaving the gate open. tsk tsk… Did anyone get a vid of you chasing and squealing? hehe…that would be fun to watch. Great shots B. Love the sunny glow of the forest.

    September 12, 2011 at 9:38 pm

    • Yeah, they’re like free range eggs… only bigger… and hairier… and with legs… and schtuff… ;) And hey !!… The note said they’d eat the bushes.. No one said anything about them getting in the cottage… lol.. And NO !!… Fortunately… Haha… Thanks Mrs A…. :D

      September 12, 2011 at 9:46 pm

  3. Chloe [Photographer]

    that first photo is superb, love the depth and the warmth

    September 13, 2011 at 10:39 am

    • Thanks so much Chloe… It sure was a wonderful light that evening..

      September 13, 2011 at 10:38 pm

  4. Hahaha, that’s hilarious!
    Next time, don’t forget to post the audio of you screaming like a girl! That would have made it even funnier ;-)

    September 13, 2011 at 11:48 am

    • Ummmm… Oh no no no no… lol… Fortunately I don’t own a video camera… Well, fortunately for me anyways…. Thanks Michaela… ;)

      September 13, 2011 at 10:37 pm

  5. The light in that image is amazing, F.S…
    I really like that yellow halloish glow you’ve captured/created around the trees!
    HA! Well, I never! What kind of pony doesn’t knock first!
    :)

    September 13, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    • Thanks so much SIG… Nothing was created here this time around though.. lol, it was all natural, and I’m just so glad I was able to capture it as it appeared when we were there… It was an amazing light for sure… And yeah I know, those ponies can be SO rude !!!… ;)

      September 13, 2011 at 10:33 pm

  6. The first image is beautiful. Is there a way I can magically step into the scene? ;)

    Are the ponies wild? Or just free range? I’m not sure there is a difference, but I was thinking of the wild ponies of Assateague Island in Maryland here in the U.S. There are signs all over the park warning people not to get close to the ponies as they will bite or kick or both.

    Great bonus shot. That’s something you just don’t see everyday.

    September 13, 2011 at 10:13 pm

    • They are indeed wild Robin… or at least they are entirely free to roam about 220 sq miles of unenclosed heathland / moorland and forest… They do also suggest you don’t stroke them, but when they start nudging you with their nose, how the heck can you resist… lol… Glad you liked the bonus shot too… Thanks Robin.. :)

      September 13, 2011 at 10:30 pm

  7. Now, THAT’S one I’ve never heard of before. Horses and donkeys roaming the property like they were domesticated cats or dogs! Makes for an interesting story for sure! If it were me, I probably would have invited them inside (imagine the photo ops! ;-) )

    September 14, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    • Haha… Well the thought did ever so briefly cross my mind… but that was swiftly overwhelmed by the thought of a horse flailing around like a giraffe on ice, on somebody elses highly polished wooden floors… lol… Might have taken quite some explaining when we came to get our rental deposit back… ;)

      September 15, 2011 at 7:33 am

  8. So funny that they just hang around so tamely ( is tamely a word? I’m not sure honestly). I imagine you screaming like a girl must have been very amusing!

    September 15, 2011 at 12:32 am

    • Oh I think tamely is most definoriteprobly a real word… but then you might be asking the wrong person mefinks… lol… It was real nice to have them wandering around everywhere like that though, except when you drive round a corner and they’re all standing in the road munching on a hedge… lol…

      September 15, 2011 at 7:37 am

  9. That shot of the backlit trees is dreamy, Brian. I feel like I’m there viewing it. Ha! The horse story is great. That looks like a horse to me. Not a pony. :)

    September 15, 2011 at 3:43 am

    • Thanks so much Leslie… I know exactly what you mean, as I’d have classed them as a horse too… but for some reason I’m utterly unsure of, they’re always referred to as New Forest Ponies !!.. You can read a bit about them here if you’re interested…

      September 15, 2011 at 7:43 am

  10. Funny story! I’d really like to see a photo of that pony “doing” the dishes. :)

    September 15, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    • Haha… Yeah that would have made for quite the amusing shot, but I’m not sure clearing up the mess afterwards would have been quite so rewarding… ;)

      September 19, 2011 at 2:55 pm

  11. Definitely a narrow escape! Luckily it wasn’t a shetland, then they would have made it into the kitchen no worries :)

    September 18, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    • You’re not wrong there JP, and even one of the local Donkeys would have no doubt made a pretty good attempt too.. ;)

      September 19, 2011 at 2:56 pm

  12. The light in the top shot it lovely!

    October 8, 2011 at 10:34 pm

Leave a Reply

