The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Mysterious Manor’s

Yet another fun day out today, with one old friend and one new friend… and what better place to spend such a day than in an old abandoned manor house… Does it get any better than that ??… Well ok, maybe you think it does, but find one of these places and see if you still feel the same… ;)

This is yet another one of those derelict and abandoned manor houses, such as the infamous Potters Manor… It’s known only as FH Manor, and is just as closely guarded a secret, and not one person will divulge it’s location… so for me this took almost 2 days of investigative work to figure it out, and that’s half the fun surely ??… I’ll not go in to specifics, but I FOUND IT… and that’s what matters… :)

Seriously though… How could anyone leave such a place to ruin ??…

Oh, btw… Can you find the special addition ??… :D

Edit: I did throw this shot up as a separate post, with some history on the place.. but it didn’t seem at all popular so it had to go… Seemed a shame to waste the shot entirely though, so I thought I’d squeeze it in here..  I guess Urbex photography is an acquired taste eh.. ;)

47 responses

  1. And I suppose you’ll not divulge said location…? You can tell ME! I live really faaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaar away ;)

    Looks pretty spooky and a cool spot to explore for sure. And I do see a certain slug sig on the bottom of that mirror yanno. Can’t get nothin’ past me! :D

    September 20, 2011 at 8:14 pm

    • But of course I will… It’s in Kent… lol… and as Kent is such teeny tiny place, then you’ll have no trouble whatsoever… ;)
      And you’re right indeed… In future I won’t believe a word they say about you… lol… Thanks so much G… :)

      September 20, 2011 at 8:26 pm

      • Now wait a minute! What do you MEAN you’ll not believe a word about me? :(

        And of course…I like your mirror shot silly slug!

        September 20, 2011 at 9:52 pm

        • Hehe… No no, I’m sure it’s not true anyways… Thanks G.. :)

          September 20, 2011 at 10:07 pm

  2. I could probably imagine a better day… but to each his own! ;-) It is pretty amazing that you have these places to explore. You would never find something like that here, languishing away. Any abondoned houses in this area unfortunately become a place that your average-fun-loving photographer would never want to set foot inside.
    I never would have spotted the “addition” had Gina not pointed it out!

    September 20, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    • LOL… You may be right Karen, but until you’ve tried it… The satisfaction in finding these places, the thrill of getting in, the wondering what’s in the next room, and not to mention the danger of the floor disappearing from underneath you… lol… Oh, and then there’s the whole trying make it look appealing in a photo… ;)

      September 20, 2011 at 8:50 pm

  3. JustJayne

    Less of the ‘old’ Sluggy!!! Fab shots, love love love the first one, probably one of my favourite urbex shots of yours now, and you got ALL 3 of our signatures in it :o)

    September 20, 2011 at 8:42 pm

    • Haha… You know what I meant… ;) You really like it that much ??, as I was just thinking of a re-edit, as I wasn’t sure it was that good !!.. lol.. Was a fun day though eh… :D

      September 20, 2011 at 8:52 pm

  4. JustJayne

    Sure was, not sure about the picnic in the rain though lol……NO RE-EDITING, PERFECT as it is!!

    September 20, 2011 at 9:17 pm

    • LOL… Well it was different that’s for sure… Thanks JJ… :)

      September 20, 2011 at 9:30 pm

  5. Reeaaaaaaally great. I love the second photo!
    I want to do something like this once too. Don’t know where to start though :)
    Just really love the photos :)

    September 20, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    • I’d recommend any photographer to try it, as it’s both challenging and enjoyable… I’m sure there are places near you, it’s the finding them that’s harder… If you do though, then never go alone, as they’re never the safest of places, and you never know when you might need some help… Thanks so much RR… :)

      September 20, 2011 at 10:12 pm

  6. Ma

    It was a superb day, thanks to both of you. And this definitely doesn’t need any further editing. At last I have my name up in lights, albeit dusty ones!

    September 21, 2011 at 9:37 am

    • Thanks Ma… It certainly was a great day… if we gloss over the picnic in the wind and rain… lol… It was real nice to meet you as well.. :)

      September 21, 2011 at 9:54 am

  7. I agree, the first shot looks great as is, no re-edit necessary. Bet that place looked beautiful before it was abandoned. Have you tried to find any pictures of it from when it was new(er)?

    September 21, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    • Thanks Michaela… I’ve not been able to find any old photos unfortunately, but have discovered some of its history… Apparently the top (concrete) floor and flat roof was added in WWII as an officers retreat, and you can clearly see evidence of that addition from my shot above, and that there are now plans in existence to remove it and re-instate a pitched roof… Wether that will actually happen though remains to be seen, as those plans have been in place for some time…

      September 22, 2011 at 7:58 am

  8. All your research definitely paid off! What a find – beautifully photographed too – spectacular!
    (Great little addition, too, F.S… the perfect finishing touch)!
    :)

    September 21, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    • Thanks SIG… I sure do love finding, and exploring, and capturing for posterity places like this… :)

      September 22, 2011 at 8:00 am

  9. Looks like the Funky Slug gang have been there. ;)

    What an amazing place. It’s awful that it’s going to ruin like that. But great that you found it because those are some great shots. I really like the angle on the first one.

    September 21, 2011 at 8:12 pm

    • Lol… Thanks Robin… It sure is quite the place, and must have been VERY nice in its day… There have been a few, shall we say, less than considerate modifications over the years though… but hopefully the plans for it will return it to its former glory…

      September 22, 2011 at 8:03 am

  10. Once again, SO jealous! FABULOUS place!! Beautiful architecture! Such a shame.

    Love the slug sig!! :-)

    September 21, 2011 at 11:46 pm

    • Thanks Tracy… Mefinks you should start trying to find some abandonment around your area too… There must be something surely… You KNOW you want to… :)

      September 22, 2011 at 8:05 am

  11. Chloe [Photographer]

    lol ..slug.
    this place looks pretty intense!

    September 22, 2011 at 10:16 am

    • You like my big nosed slug “tag” then eh… lol… It sure was quite the place, although not one of the best… Thanks Chloe.. :)

      September 22, 2011 at 2:29 pm

  12. This sounds like a pretty good day to me, and it was definitely a pretty good day in terms of photographic outcomes – nice work!

    September 22, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    • Cheers JP… It sure was a pretty good day all round… :)

      September 23, 2011 at 10:01 am

  13. What an mysterious house! I wouldn’t want to be there at night though… haha ;) Great photos!

    September 22, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    • Lol… Well I’m not sure I would either, but that’s only cos you’d end up falling though the holes in the floor… lol… It would be fun though… Thanks YP.. :)

      September 23, 2011 at 10:03 am

  14. A great find indeed!

    September 22, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    • Thanks so much RoyalRat… It’s another one to the list at least..

      September 23, 2011 at 10:04 am

  15. I also followed the old links to Potters Manor. It looks almost like a film set! How come they’re left in such a state of semi ruin. Looks like someone just popped out for a bag of sugar, but never came back. Your pictures capture the light beautifully.

    September 22, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    • Thanks Keith… Yes those are pretty much our thoughts too… Potters in particular was very strange, given all the personal possessions that were left behind… and the obvious value of the place… They do make for a fun explore though…

      September 23, 2011 at 10:05 am

  16. aswirly

    Youa re sooo cute. I can’t believe you put a little funky slug on the glass! hehe… actually I can. THis is such a great find. What a sleuth you are! Great job finding this old house. I really can’t believe there are such amazing houses like this just to fall apart quietly. It really is unbelievable. Great shots B. Love that you have used your special funky 1/2 colored recipe for the second image. It really works!

    September 24, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    • The Slug HAD to be done, it’s the law dontchaknow… ;)

      September 25, 2011 at 9:52 am

  17. I would frame and hang that first picture for sure. I like the front door reflectedin the mirror and the stairs trailing upward. I actually find this very spiritually moving; sort of like our “trappings left behind, even our vision and reflection of life as we knew it. Very awesome photo.

    September 28, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    • Thanks so much Leslie, that’s quite the compliment for sure… And you’d frame it and hang it up ??.. even with my little slug on the mirror ??.. ;)

      November 8, 2011 at 8:50 pm

  18. Your HDR work is really impressive, I’ve only embraced HDR in the last 2 years and have been itchin to get into some derelict premises myself. I’ve put a follow on your blog, thank yoiu for sharing your excellent work. Peace

    September 28, 2011 at 4:42 pm

    • I’m not sure I’ve been doing HDR much longer than that.. or maybe I have.. lol.. Time sure does fly when you’re having fun… Thanks for dropping by..

      November 8, 2011 at 8:51 pm

  19. I was just going to comment on the second shot (it showed up in my feed reader), but then it was gone! When I first looked at it, only the top third was showing, and it looked like an incredible beautiful abstract (not that it isn’t nice in its entirety too!) .

    September 29, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    • Lol… Yeah sorry about that… Luckily I threw it in here then I guess… Thanks so much JP..

      November 8, 2011 at 8:52 pm

  20. I find all your derelict manor shots sooooooo fascinating!!! So sad though really. Imagine the people who loved it in its heyday finding that this is what has become of their beloved and grandiosely beautiful home. :( *sniff*

    Great self portrait, by the way. ;)

    October 4, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    • I agree… I’d imagine it was seriously impressive when it was first built and lived in and loved.. Such a shame these places are left to ruin…

      November 8, 2011 at 8:53 pm

  21. Incredible find, but so sad in the same time. Awesome photo!

    October 11, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    • It most certainly is pretty sad… Thanks so much Anne..

      November 8, 2011 at 8:53 pm

  22. Cool! I love old houses.

    October 14, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    • Well this one sure needs some love I have to say… as it’s not seen a great deal of it in a few years… Thanks so much Eden..

      November 8, 2011 at 8:54 pm

  23. So sad to see what must have been a magnificant building in its prime, now left to ruin. It’s enchanting though. Wish I could wander through it….bit far to go from Oz :) Though I am planning a trip to the UK next year, so never say never ;)

    November 9, 2011 at 10:54 am

Leave a Reply

