The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Beam Me Up

I seem to have cultivated / acquired / developed / produced a bit of a  problem… or an illness… or an addiction… or some may even consider it the early onset of insanity (although my kids may argue it’s not so early… lol).. Anyway, this “problem” I speak of has been slowly worsening over the past few years, and I can definitively trace the source back to its origins… which was HERE… An old abandoned iron foundry, that had a very convenient human sized hole in the fence…  I think I must have been bitten by something when I was in there… Fortunately though, that foundry is no longer in existence, so hopefully others won’t suffer the same fate as me…

The symptoms of said illness ??… An inane desire to seek out and sneak in to any and all abandoned and derelict locations I can find… Schools / Colleges / Hospitals / Mansions / Nursing Homes / Industrial Factories… If it’s old and unused (and generally unsafe) then that’s invitation enough normally… lol… Other symptoms also include cuts / abrasions / not being able to get clean for a week / dirty blood stained clothing, and smelling like something no human should really be smelling like…. It’s small wonder I have so few friends these days !!!… although I’m pretty sure it’s only mildly contagious…

Oh, and it also means that my much more “general consumption” landscapey type photography has suffered a bit, but then given that it’s fast heading in to winter here, that’s no bad thing…

So the latest offering is an old abandoned Girls School, which I’ve been to before, but on this occasion we also managed to find the basement, and the beams of sunlight streaming through the small windows were nothing short of awe-inspiring… You certainly can’t beat spending hours in the dark and damp basement of an old and long abandoned girls school on a sunny Sunday afternoon… Isn’t that every mans idea of the perfect way to spend their weekend ??… ;)

35 responses

  1. I am such a chicken! Between fears of grievous injury, and visions of being arrested for trespassing, I would never dare venture into such places…but I will admit that the teeny little rebellious part of me, which is incredibly fascinated with the old and decaying, longs to have one of these adventures that I enjoy only vicariously through you! Every time I see an old decrepit building I think of you. LOL ;)

    November 6, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    • Lol.. Thanks so much KD.. I have to confess to being chased off by an angry farmer, and almost walking in to a demolition contractors office, but so far injuries and arrests have been avoided, although given the condition of some of the places we’ve been, I’m not sure HOW we’ve avoided injury.. lol.. There’s an art to finding the right piece of floor “just” strong enough to support your weight I guess… ;)

      November 6, 2011 at 1:02 pm

  2. Oh, I am so with you, Bri! I would love to go out on such urbex adventures! There is just something about those places…the mystery, the history, why people left it the way it is, what caused them to leave and why hasn’t anyone moved in. I also love seeing how nature reclaims them. If left long enough, the woods and critters make these places unrecognizeable.

    This shot is great! The muted tones, the details and the light..perfect!

    November 6, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    • You’re not wrong there Tracy… They are fascinating… Some of the places we’ve been, especially the Manor Houses, really do make you wonder WHY they were abandoned, and under what circumstances too, when they leave so much behind !!… I do also love to dig in to the history as well wherever possible…

      November 6, 2011 at 1:05 pm

  3. These photos of yours are always fascinating; for me it is thinking about the people who lived in or used the place so many years ago. Unfortunately anything abandoned in the city near me would be really unsafe for exploring. The closest I’ve come to an experience like this is the remains of an American Civil War fort near a lighthouse in Maine. I wasn’t so into photography in those days; I’m thinking of a return visit next summer.
    PS – I’m glad you are still blogging every now and again.

    November 6, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    • Trust me Karen, some of the places I’ve explored (this school in particular) were “extremely” dangerous in places… The upper water damaged floor was literally the strength of damp tissue paper in places, and there were quite a few body sized holes where people had not been careful enough… It’s an addiction though… lol… Thanks Karen.. :)

      November 6, 2011 at 1:55 pm

      • Perhaps I should have clarified my meaning for “unsafe” – I mean abandoned houses in Springfield, MA would be likely to have drug dealers or gang members using them at various times of the day.

        November 7, 2011 at 12:35 am

        • Ahhhh… Yeah I can understand entirely your reluctance now… Maybe you should avoid the city then, and go for the abandoned countryside, as that’s where most of my finds are if I’m honest… That said though, I think the prevalent gun ownership out there might make that pretty unsafe too, as you’d certainly not want to be confronted by an irate gun toting farmer, or the likes…

          November 7, 2011 at 6:20 pm

  4. Gina

    As always…I am green with envy over all of these fabulous locations. I’ll admit to not being a bit shy about stepping over the line into the “no trespassing” zone but there’s really nothing like this around these parts. Love the light here and all the grit and ickiness you’ve captured B! ;)

    November 6, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    • Thanks so much G… I’m always amazed how many abandoned places there are here, that are potential explores… Places that you never notice until you really start digging around looking for them… That said though, I’m not sure I’d be “quite” so prepared to cross the line over there, as your security etc tend to be slightly better “equipped” than ours… ;)

      November 6, 2011 at 5:44 pm

  5. Wow, you always seem to find such special (but also creepy) places! But that’s really cool, since your photos are really unique and mysterious. Love it!

    November 6, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    • Thank you so much YP… I have to admit there were definitely a few places in the basement that were a bit creepy, but still so very interesting to explore… :)

      November 6, 2011 at 5:50 pm

  6. Well, if you didn’t have this problem/illness/addiction… or whatever else you may call it, WE wouldn’t get to see these amazing photos!
    Just be safe! Wouldn’t want anything more serious than cuts and bruises to happen to you.

    November 6, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    • Lol… Thanks so much Michaela… And thanks indeed for the concern… Maybe you could start collecting donations to pay for my bail money (or hospital bills)… lol.. ;))

      November 6, 2011 at 10:35 pm

  7. Hahaha… and I though I was the only one who got all messy whenever my camera came out! If I had a few shots like this It would sure make up for all that laundry!
    Outstanding piece (as always) sir!
    :)

    November 7, 2011 at 7:08 am

    • Nope… You’re definitely not alone there SIG… lol.. Not all outings are as lucrative though, and quite often I’ve come home messed up and virtually empty handed… Thanks so much bud.. :)

      November 7, 2011 at 6:10 pm

  8. Chloe

    lol i have the want this illness you speak of, but my inner chicken emerges when opportunity arrises lol
    i love this stunning photo

    November 7, 2011 at 9:03 am

    • I have a feeling my inner chicken may have been cooked and eaten many years ago… lol… but maybe I still a small chick on the incubator, just to prevent me from getting arrested… I hope… lol… Thanks so much Chloe.. :)

      November 7, 2011 at 6:06 pm

  9. Isn’t it amazing what we’ll do to get “that shot”?! Things we never imagined ourselves doing….. but when it ends up being worth it – when we see the final result – it becomes our “high”! We crave more!! This is an outstanding photo, the lighting is perfect!!

    November 7, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    • Lol.. You’re not wrong there Holly… Many a time when trying to get “that” shot, I’ve wondered what the heck am I doing… Climbing rocks with 20′ drops, standing on the edge of crumbling cliffs, laying in churchyards at 1am… and that’s not even getting to the barbed wire fences and crumbling buildings / non existent floors.. Sometimes though, it just HAS to be done eh.. ;)

      November 7, 2011 at 6:03 pm

  10. aswirly

    I KNEW you were a SICKO! Haha… Ahhh yeah, I remember the foundry ;) You always have had a knack for making the unappealing super amazingly appealing. Loving your recent urbexing finds. This one is quite a treat. The sunbeam is fantastic! It adds to the creepy eerie feel of the place.

    November 7, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    • Haha.. I KNEW I’d be able to rely on you for a sympathetic comment regarding my current affliction… lol.. That old iron foundry sure was a great introduction in to an entirely alternative photomagraphical calling eh… And I’ve spent my entire life trying to make the unappealing look appealing, but damn is it getting harder as I get older.. lol… Thanks so much A.. Glad you’re enjoying my recent explorations.. :)

      November 7, 2011 at 5:54 pm

  11. Fantastic image, Brian.

    I would love to have the nerve to go exploring in abandoned buildings. There are a few around here that have been tempting me, including an old barn that is beginning to collapse. On the other hand, I have enough afflictions. Not sure I need another one… ;)

    November 8, 2011 at 12:28 am

    • Thanks so much Robin… They certainly are very tempting aren’t they… and you can find some very surprising, and pretty amazing shots too… and I always love the challenge of trying to make the unappealing look appealing (and trying to find a way in.. lol)… That said though, I’d be more concerned over your side of the pond, having heard of a woman who had her face shot off by a farmer, JUST for taking a picture of the outside of his barn !!!…

      November 8, 2011 at 8:02 am

      • I was going to walk down the road and take some photos of an old barn that is slowly falling down. I’m going to rethink that idea now that I know farmers are shooting off the faces of photographers. I may not like what aging is doing to my face, but I’d still like to keep it. ;)

        November 8, 2011 at 8:56 pm

        • LOL… I’m sure the story I read was a very rare occurrence, but I guess the moral of the story is caution… I’d still be tempted though, but would maybe draw the line at trespassing… or at least find someone to ask permission… ;)

          November 8, 2011 at 9:25 pm

  12. Good you found that human sized hole in the fence – and got that illnes ;-) – Exciting, fascinating and very inspiring. Now I must start looking for abandoned and dilapidated places too!

    November 9, 2011 at 12:35 am

  13. Kate

    Love this photo! i immediately went into imagining what the building must’ve looked like in it’s heyday, all the girls that attended there…. That’s the great thing about photography: all the stories begging to be told!

    Came across your blog from another blogger’s, and am looking forward to reading more from you!

    November 9, 2011 at 2:09 am

  14. I have always viewed your addiction as something else, which I find rather fascinating about you. Have you noticed how your abandoned buildings explode with the idea of light and darkness? I have dubbed you, in my own mind, as the artist in search of the light, Brian. It is a “no-brainer” for me. These photos speak so clearly of that. This is beautiful.

    November 9, 2011 at 4:50 pm

  15. Very nice post!

    November 10, 2011 at 3:00 pm

  16. LOL And I bet it’s very contagious… like people can get the same symptoms just looking at your pictures. Hihi! I sure do!

    Great shot, Brian, really love the sun beam coming through the ceiling!

    November 12, 2011 at 12:38 pm

  17. Well, the symptoms may suck, but the end result is worth it :)

    November 14, 2011 at 12:21 pm

  18. Great piece!

    November 23, 2011 at 4:41 pm

  19. Awesome title!
    And a great photo too…

    September 12, 2012 at 5:04 pm

  20. very cool picture!

    April 8, 2014 at 12:12 pm

Leave a Reply

