The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Brrrrrrr..illiant Skies

Have to confess to not having taken many pictures recently, cos… well… not to put too fine a point on it… IT’S TOO COLD !!!… and if it’s not too cold, then it’s too… well… Ok  ok, maybe it’s not actually TOO cold, but it’s as good an excuse as any to just stay snug and warm in front of the fire at this time of year… lol.. Actually I tell a lie, as I have been out, and have plenty of shots from some recent urbex explorations, but figured that maybe I should dig back through some as yet unused pics from our summer holiday, if for no other reason than they LOOK a bit warmer than my recent urbex pics… This was a beautiful day, plus, who doesn’t love a sky like this… :)

27 responses

  1. Gorgeous blue sky!! Looks a lot warmer than the days we’ve been having lately, too!!

    December 7, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    • Thanks Holly, and it was DEFINITELY warmer than the temps here too at the mo… Brass monkeys spring to mind… ;)

      December 7, 2011 at 10:25 pm

  2. Gina

    This is gorgeous! Reminds me a lot of MD and the area around the battlefield. Wonderful, bright colors here B. Just love it!! :)

    December 7, 2011 at 9:44 pm

    • Thanks so much G… It sure was real nice here, and strange as it may seem, this is actually in the grounds of a Motor Museum… or to put it correctly, the motor museum is in the grounds of a rather impressive Abbey and Palace, and these early 13th century ruins…

      December 7, 2011 at 10:29 pm

  3. The above reply answered my question as to how old theseruins are, Brian. Fascinating. Love the color captured in this photo…

    December 7, 2011 at 10:54 pm

    • Thanks so much Leslie… I was actually SO tempted to convert this to black and white, as the sky and ruins worked so well, but I couldn’t quite achieve what I wanted on the grass before I got bored… ;)

      December 8, 2011 at 7:40 pm

  4. This looks more like the type of place that wouldn’t scare me to poke around, LOL! Ruins of that age are fascinating to me, especially since there isn’t anything that old over here. It has been strangely warm for December here (in the 50’s F – don’t know how that translates to C) and rainy – so I haven’t shot much lately either. Always nice to see a post from you.

    December 8, 2011 at 12:23 am

    • LOL.. Yeah but it didn’t quite have the same thrill… as nice as the day was… Not sure some of the “other” ruins I’ve been to recently will still be standing in 800 years time though… lol… It’s about 50 here too right now, but with the high winds we’re getting it feels a LOT colder… or at least it does outside.. ;)

      December 8, 2011 at 8:01 pm

  5. I was going to say, it doesn’t look cold at all! It’s been FREEZING here, which means still no Christmas-picture-torture-session.
    Beautiful photo… makes me miss those old ruins and castles we used to visit when I was kid.

    December 8, 2011 at 11:56 am

    • Haha… Can’t believe you’ve not tortured them yet… What’s the point of a torture session though if you’re going to wait until it’s nice and warm and sunny… ;)

      December 8, 2011 at 8:03 pm

      • Wellll… I don’t want to torture myself!! ;-)

        December 8, 2011 at 8:06 pm

        • That’s what windows are for… Make them stand outside while you shoot through the window, and then photoshop yourself in later from the comfort of your own living room… ;)

          December 8, 2011 at 8:13 pm

        • What?? Nooo!! I have no intention of being in that picture myself!
          The window is a good idea, though LOL

          December 8, 2011 at 9:24 pm

  6. I do not blame you at all, F.S.! And I can relate! I’d love to blow this image up and put it on a giant billboard outside my windows (maybe trick myself into thinking summer was back)! What a spectacular sky… makes the dreary weather we’ve been having around here lately seem even more disgusting! :)

    December 8, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    • LOL… Thanks so much SIG.. That’s not a bad idea actually, but I think I’ll stick them to the inside of the windows, as it’s far to cold and windy to step outside right now… ;)

      December 8, 2011 at 8:05 pm

  7. I’m never sure if looking at summer shots in the winter (and vice versa) makes me feel any better, or just rubs it in…

    December 9, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    • Lol… I’m not sure either, but with a distinct lack of any decent winter shots, I’m just gonna have to rub it in a little bit more over the next few months I think..

      December 11, 2011 at 2:02 pm

  8. If you think it’s cool where you live, you should come down here. :lol: Pretty sky, Brian!

    December 10, 2011 at 3:14 am

    • Thanks so much Anne… Yeah I have to confess it could be a lot colder… but then I also think it might be a lot prettier if it were… lol..

      December 11, 2011 at 2:04 pm

  9. Chloe

    beautiful sky

    December 11, 2011 at 12:45 am

  10. Gorgeous sky. Certainly worth a look back. :)

    December 12, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    • Thanks Robin.. It sure was a gorgeous day…

      December 12, 2011 at 7:18 pm

  11. Wow, that sky is blue! And the composition of the shot and colors just draw you into it. Cool photo!

    December 19, 2011 at 4:07 pm

  12. Val

    I know the feeling… the weather keeps me and my camera indoors. Today’s very very windy… Why is it I find I always want to photograph macros when the wind is blowing and I can’t?!

    I like the light and colours in this photo and am glad you didn’t convert it to B&W.

    Have a happy Christmas and new year, Brian. All the best.

    December 25, 2011 at 2:33 pm

  13. You right… this brilliant skies… and love the architecture in these picture

    January 10, 2012 at 8:45 am

  14. Stunning! I love the brilliant colors and how each one contrasts the other.

    January 15, 2012 at 6:17 pm

Leave a Reply

