The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Take a Seat

IMG_5341

This is one most definitely from the archives that has been begging me to edit it for a very very very long time, and I figured that as I’ve now hit 4,000 followers (not even the faintest idea how that happened!), then now would be an ideal time to dust things off and throw it out there. This is from a past visit to the previously infamous Potters Manor, a once wonderful manor house sadly abandoned. I’m not even sure it’s still standing, as I know from the last pictures I saw, it had been robbed of any remaining character it may once have had, and everything that wasn’t nailed down, and sadly most things that WERE nailed down too.

Hopefully someone bought it, with the intention of restoring it to its former glory.

34 responses

  1. You can still see how beautiful it used to be. Nicely done Brian, you always get the tones just right. All it needs now is a cozy fire in the fireplace ;-)

    February 9, 2015 at 6:21 pm

    • Oh, and 4000 followers??!!! Wow! Congrats…and well deserved (you suck! LOL)

      February 9, 2015 at 6:23 pm

      • Lol. You’re likely right there, on the last part. Thanks for the other bits though. :)

        February 9, 2015 at 11:22 pm

  2. aswirly

    This really is a striking image. Such a grand space… those two chairs by the fireplace are reminiscent of past conversations by the warmth of a fire. Love the sunbeams too!

    February 9, 2015 at 6:29 pm

    • Thanks A… I can still remember being in awe of that room, imagining how it once must have been. Such a shame.

      February 9, 2015 at 11:24 pm

  3. Congrats on the 4k followers! I don’t know which I like more, the image or the title! Cheers.

    February 9, 2015 at 9:41 pm

    • Thank you so much. I’m gonna go with the shot, cos sadly I’d imagine someone’s already made off with the seats. :-/

      February 9, 2015 at 11:25 pm

  4. LOVE the light streaming in from the window. Great image!

    February 12, 2015 at 6:56 pm

  5. Jayne

    Great photo (as usual). :) Such a shame to hear that this grand old lady was ravaged. Like you say, it would be nice to hear that it had been rescued and restored. Did you see the photos of Cloud Cottage in Wales circulating on the web recently? …Another period in time, preserved as though the owners had just left.

    February 15, 2015 at 4:50 pm

    • Hiya Jayne. Hope you’re well. I’ve recently done some more research on Potters Manor, and the last pictures I saw were horrifying. All the wood paneling, stained glass windows, ornate skylight and stair rails etc. all gone! I’ve also just read that work was to begin in late 2013 to demolish the manor house. There’s certainly no new pictures appearing after that, so I can only assume that it sadly is no more. Worryingly I fear the same will happen to Cloud House too once people learn of its location. It sickens me how people can’t respect little time capsules like these, until such time someone can actually do something of value with them. “Take nothing but pictures, leave nothing but footprints” is a motto we should all adopt, eh…

      February 15, 2015 at 5:55 pm

  6. Hey there! Hello from across the Atlantic. How cool to see a blog post from you. I miss seeing your fabulous photos and wit on a regular basis. Maybe editing this lovely shot will give you the “itch” to post every now and again? Hope so! Hope all is well for you and yours. :-)

    February 16, 2015 at 1:27 pm

    • Hi Karen, and thanks :) Yeah, I know I suck at blogging. Lol. I REALLY need to get out and take more pictures though, before I can get really itchy. Maybe this will be the year. :D Although it may be wise not to hold your breath, just in case. ;)

      February 20, 2015 at 7:56 am

  7. *Amazed*

    February 20, 2015 at 12:36 am

  8. Another super-abandoned-shot. Oh, I would LOVE to take that seat – although I would not stay long – before I was around on the spot with my camera ;-)

    February 21, 2015 at 11:45 pm

    • Lol. Thanks Truels. Yeah, I couldn’t stay in one room for long either. I love places like this.

      March 3, 2015 at 9:02 pm

  9. Great photo. I love this kind of photo.

    February 23, 2015 at 6:47 pm

    • Very kind. And so do I fortunately. Exploring abandoned places is something I really wish I could do more often.

      March 3, 2015 at 9:00 pm

  10. A lovely sense of depth to this shot! :)

    March 4, 2015 at 8:54 am

  11. Wonderful image! I love the light streaming in on the right. I have been attracted to chairs in abandoned places too. For me they represent a kind of proof of past human existence.

    March 8, 2015 at 1:02 pm

    • This place was fantastic when we were there, as some rooms still had the previous residents belongings. Suitcases and wardrobes full of clothes, shoes and wigs, even an old diary from the 60’s that I had a read through. It was fascinating, and very poignant…

      March 15, 2015 at 8:59 pm

  12. perfect shot, wonderful! Best wishes

    March 22, 2015 at 11:23 am

  13. great photo!

    April 29, 2015 at 9:34 pm

  14. Love your photos of Potters, you were so lucky to get in there relatively early before the place was completely trashed. You have some really stunning photographs. Thought you would be interested to see this! http://www.rightmove.co.uk/property-for-sale/property-52330817.html

    May 23, 2015 at 11:07 am

    • Wow. Thank you so much for that link (and your kind comment)… It’s certainly great to see someone has finally brought it back to life again. I was always worried they’d just bulldoze it given how people had completely trashed the place. It was a wonderful property and certainly deserved that makeover. Now to find a spare £3,750,000… Lol.

      May 23, 2015 at 11:17 am

      • You’re very welcome Brian, your photos are some of the best I’ve seen of Potters for a long time.
        Like you I was really pleased to see that the house had been restored, I knew that somebody bought it but have not heard anything since. They must have had to spend an awful lot of money on it but will no doubt make it back if it as for the asking price. I’m going to keep on buying those lottery tickets ;)

        May 23, 2015 at 11:23 am

        • Haha. Yeah, I can only imagine how much that cost… I’d buy the place in a heartbeat too if I win just a mere £5,000,000…. Sounds only fair… Lol. And thanks again for your very kind comment. I loved that place, and tried my hardest to do the photos justice. :)

          May 23, 2015 at 11:33 am

  15. I like this shot good job

    May 26, 2015 at 2:23 pm

  16. well worth the edit. I just wish I could see it larger.

    June 3, 2015 at 9:06 pm

  17. The old-fashioned but antique and unique !

    July 1, 2015 at 6:41 am

Leave a Reply

